I remember…

Standard

There was a time when I couldn’t see God or goodness.  I was blind.  I didn’t think I needed the institution of “church.” 

I was wrong.  Dead wrong. 

It’s taken me a long time, a lot of prayers, and many, many hands to get me here today. 

Where is that?  Involved in a church family who loves my family and me for who we are RIGHT NOW.  I never thought I would be as crazy about Jesus as I am right now.  If you had told me that 30 years ago I would have lit a cigarette, popped open a beer and laughed in your face. 

Time changes everything and prayers get answered.  Don’t ever stop praying. 

Don’t ever think you aren’t worthy of God’s love because you ARE!  

In this picture you see me being unwrapped.  I drew this in 2009-it was a time of spiritual awakening for me…just like the song below.

Unwrapped-Donna

Going to Resurrection this year has helped me to “remember” and to thank God for saving my sorry butt all those years ago.  This week I have been reminded to not point fingers, to not judge, ( after all ,we must let GOD do HIS job! ) to pray for a supernatural love and to expect it!  I have received it!   I’ve been blown away by God’s grace and forgiveness in the past month and by the reminder that no matter what I do- God loves me for me.  I’m not perfect and I can’t expect others to be perfect either.  

God is filling me with a love like I’ve never had before.   I remember someone telling me that they wanted God to show me how to love like never before ( I am paraphrasing-in case you are reading…) and He is…He amazes me! 

I will never give up trying to wake others up.  No matter what- I will continue to work to break through the darkness and shine a light where there is none.  I can’t save the world-only God can do that.   When we share ourselves with others- our stories, our hopes and our dreams-the light begins to peek through the cracks, shining a ray of hope into a human being’s soul.  We must give ourselves away as Jesus did.  It is something we learn to do with every step we take.  The more steps we take towards God, the more we learn about being a servant and having a servants heart.  It’s about waking people up with love so that they can fall IN love with the Creator of life and light. 

One man wakes…another wakes…then it multiplies…I’ve seen it happen and it’s a glorious thing…

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

