Matter into motion

Standard

 

Good morning!

On these nice days we have been having I’ve been spending a lot of time outside . I’ve been working in the yard.  It is raining today so it’s time to blog about what I am learning.  The education never stops and when I leave this earth-bound for heaven-I will finally have my long awaited degree!  I’m looking forward to that day!  I hope you are too!

We have lived here for nearly 14 years.  Our yard proves to be a challenge and we have spent a lot of time and effort on it.  I am convinced that it will never be fully finished as long as I live.  The challenge is that our front yard slopes down toward our house.  This causes erosion, water issues and it’s just hard to work with.  So last week I had to pull up the landscape timbers around the garage.  They were rotten, moldy and water logged.  It was pretty easy to tear them up and digging a low trench and restoring the flower beds will be the hard work.  But at least I have prepared the way for that to be started. 

Transformation takes work.

It also takes planning.

While I am working I am thinking about where the water is flowing and where it NEEDS to be directed to.   In order to get it to the drain-it needs proper direction.

Aren’t we like that too?

Without proper direction we go willy nilly and get off course-just like this water has.  The water has seeped into the garage blocks, at ground level, because the drainage is all plugged up.  Over the years the silt has gathered and caused the drain and  trench to fill up and not work properly. 

Isn’t sin the same way?

If we don’t spend time getting direction from God-we get lost.  Sin seeps into our lives and we get all plugged up with the dirt and debris of life.  In order to get rid of that junk we need to work at it.  How do we do that? With the proper tools.  We can’t dig up the soil with a rake-but we can with a shovel.  We have to get to the root of the problem.

The drainage issues we have, come from a yard that is not properly landscaped.  Last year we had all the trees removed so that we could redo the landscaping and get it right.  It takes effort, patience, sweat, determination, patience, time, money and work!  You have to get your hands dirty and sweaty.  It takes muscle.  Muscle takes strength and in order to get strength we must work at it over time. 

Power = strength over time.

Our spiritual life is the same way.  Some of our tools are God’s Word, prayer, study, time, patience, willingness, blood, sweat and tears!  We must get to the root of our issues and dig them out with a shovel.  They must be dealt with and put to death.  No easy task, however, we have a responsibility to God and others to be the very best we can.  We aren’t to just sit on our hands and do nothing.  If I were to sit and wish my yard would drain properly-you would laugh at me wouldn’t you?  Well, I KNOW I would laugh at YOU!  LOL 

Everything worthwhile requires work and willingness.

 

So, what are you going to do?  Wish your life was working right or WORK at making it work right?   Seek God’s guidance.  Study the Word, dig it out and put what you’ve learned into action. Keep doing it over and over and over again until things flow the way they should.  From your heart to God’s.  Our lives should flow in the direction of GOD.  If they don’t- find a shovel and start digging until the path is clear and open.  I promise you that you will never regret it and watch what happens-God will redirect the flow to go from HIS heart into YOURS-an unending shower of love, mercy and grace.  But first, we must be willing to do the work.

Are you willing?

May peace and grace cover your path today,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

