The TEELE family bible

Standard

‎”A Bible that’s falling apart, usually belongs to a person that isn’t.”

borrowed from FB

Old Family Bible 001

 

 

Old Family Bible 002

 

Old Family Bible 004Old Family Bible 007Old Family Bible 008Old Family Bible 009

A picture says a thousand words.

I watched the Book of Eli tonight.  It’s about a man named Eli who lives in the post apocalyptic period.  He heard a call from God to go on a mission to save the last known KJV bible in the world.  He guards this bible with his very life.  He has traveled by foot for 30 years.  He goes to great lengths to keep the Word of God safe.  He has spent 30 years reading it every night-hiding the Word of God in his heart.

It’s a good thing he does.

You’ll have to watch the movie to see what happens.

When I checked my mail tonight- my mother had sent me these photos of the family bible she has at home.  It is written here on the last page: Mrs. Joseph Teele, died January 16th, 1919 leaving behind 8 children.  ( 93 years ago)  I don’t know much about her but after seeing the condition of this bible I think it would be safe to say that she was a praying woman.   Our character reflects who lives inside of us.  The condition of our bible does to.

I thank God for praying Great Grandmothers, Grandmothers and Mothers. 

P.S. This was also the date ( January 16, 1919) that Prohibition began…I wonder if Great Granny sent that prayer up…while I will never know for sure, I have a feeling she did….

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

