Pastor Pam’s cross and my photo edits….

Standard

I love making things for people-especially crosses.  Today is Pastor Pam’s “welcome to Hillsville” party!    I spent a few hours making her a gift.

101_18581

The wood from the cross is from the stable that Pastor Ty built for the Christmas service.  This wood came from the Harmon farm off of route 100.  The Harmon’s are church members at Hillsville. 

101_18501

I really like to make things extra special so I thought that was the perfect choice of wood for Pam’s cross.  It shows life, death, persistence, perseverance and family.   The life is from the farm animals that this wood has kept corralled and safe.  It is also from the stable that Ty built for the Christmas Eve service.  A baby was born and His name was Jesus.  It was also Pam’s first Christmas with us-one that she is not likely to forget very soon-nor shall we. 

The shape of the wood is weathered and old.  It has held up well over all of these years-showing persistence and perseverance in it’s grain.  We have to be like this too-to be able to stand the test of time.  I have a feeling that Pam will be with us for a long time.  She has a great sense of love and grace in her countenance.  ( Of course I am not saying that Pam is weathered or old either- she is a beautiful representation of the love of Christ.) 

The cross itself represents the death of our sins-but not of a man.  He was resurrected and lives again!  Finally there’s family…Pam has become part of this big church family here at Hillsville and we already love her like she’s been here for years!

Welcome to the family Pam and Lyndon!

We love you!

101_18571

This is the message that Pam shares….

101_18561

Be a light!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

5 responses »

  1. I can’t begin to tell you how much I love this cross! It’s beautiful and it has a very prominent place in my living room already! You are so talented & creative. Thanks again for such a meaningful gift. I will treasure it.
    Pam

  2. Pam Sutherland: via FB: I tried to leave you a comment on your blog but I don’t know if it worked! Haven’t gotten that far in the book. But just in case it didn’t post, I LOVE THE CROSS AND WILL TREASURE IT ALWAYS. Thank you!

  3. Wow–Pam must feel so pleased with your gift! What a lovely sentiment and to have used the Christmas nativity wood was so inspired!

Leave a Reply

