Fasting 101-Saturday

Standard

So, on Saturday I had half a banana at breakfast and a v-8 before we left the hotel.  The kids ate breakfast in their rooms so that was easy.  We had a late lunch at Subway and I ordered chicken dumpling soup.  It was really good and I tried to eat the broth and not all the dumplings.  I think I did pretty good with that.  I stopped when I got full and I only ate half the soup. 

At some point in the afternoon I had a few carrots and an orange.  I brought fruit with us so I would have something available in the room.  Of course I am still drinking water/Gatorade.  We attended the evening session and afterward, back at the hotel, we had pizza waiting on us.  Well, during our devotion time I kept smelling it and it just smelled so good!  Pizza is a real weakness of mine and I can eat some pizza!  After devotions were over, we took our pizza back to our rooms to eat.  I ate one slice of cheese pizza.   When I finished it, I wanted more.  Not because I was hungry, but because I was lusting for the pizza.  Grrr.

So, I asked Cort to please take the rest of the pizza to the boys next door.  We were finished and I knew if I didn’t get it out of the room I would eat more of it.  I didn’t need to do that.  So, my great husband gave the pizza to the boys and we went to bed.  Thank you hubby!

This is why I say NOT eating is easier.  I know I have to return to eating a normal diet eventually and I will have to become quite disciplined in my choices and how much I eat.  I am 50 years old and I want to live a long and healthy life.  If I keep eating the way I was, previous to this fast, I will kill myself with food.   I cannot let the sin of gluttony control my life anymore.  God has made this crystal clear to me.  He is teaching me how to stand firm. 

Lord help me.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

