Fasting 101-Friday

Standard

Hi! 

This weekend we went to Rez 2012.  It was awesome.  I have been fasting and on Friday I started to switch over to a Daniel fast.  A Daniel fast is fruits and veggies only.  No meat, chicken, or dairy.  You eat as close to the earth as possible. 

So on Friday night we went to the Roadhouse in Gatlinburg. I had a decision to make.  What to eat?  Honestly, it is easier to just NOT eat.  The Roadhouse is a steakhouse.  Interestingly enough it wasn’t the steak that bothered me but the PEANUTS in the buckets!!!  I am a salty, crunchy addict.  LOL  The waiter bothered me too and I really wanted to slap him, but I didn’t.  He was cocky and rude.  I had brought my Gatorade bottle with me and set it on the table in front of me.  He told me that I was in a restaurant and I needed to put that away and drink what was there.  So I ordered a water, but I never put the bottle away.  I drank both. 

I looked at the menu and ordered a side of green beans and a side of mixed veggies.  Of course there was drama about that too-from the waiter.  He was just plain rude.  When he brought the meal he acted like a jerk.  He brought my food and had accidentally brought 2 servings of each thing-which was way too much.   More comments.  I kept my mouth shut and just smiled. 

I ate half the green beans.  I was concerned that they would create havoc in my empty stomach because they were cooked in butter and ham.  They were delicious, but I knew I had to be careful.  So I ate half the mixed veggies and that was it.  When the waiter picked up the table he commented on that too.  Blah.  He was just a jerk.  He’s lucky I didn’t throw the bucket of peanuts at him, but that wouldn’t have been very Christian of me would it?    So I just shrugged it off and we left. 

Everything we do requires a choice.  If it’s not food, it’s our reaction, our attitude, our deeds, or our words.  We must choose to live our lives FOR God and not for the world. 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

