Dreams

Standard

Good Morning!

A couple of weeks ago I had a dream that I would like to share with you.  I think it is significant and holds great meaning.  This morning it came back to my mind.

Here it is:  ( the text in black bold is the dream while the blue are my thoughts on what it means.)

We were at OOTBWC, except it wasn’t the building we know now-it was a different building.  Pastor Ronnie was baptizing a lot of people around an indoor pool or baptismal that was built into the floor.  There were a lot of people-too many to really count.  They were gathered around the pool, lined up, some were waiting and some were getting out, but ALL were wearing baptismal robes that went to the floor.  The front of the robes were white and the back were purple. 

I found this to be interesting.  White means purity and purple means royalty in the bible.  In the OT purple dye was very expensive and you had to be quite wealthy to buy it.  Lydia was a dealer in purple cloth. She was from Thyatira.  Interestingly enough in this passage below they are by a river and Lydia was converted after hearing Paul’s message.  She was then baptized along with all of the members of her household. 

Acts 16: 13-15

On the Sabbath we went outside the city gate to the river, where we expected to find a place of prayer. We sat down and began to speak to the women who had gathered there. 14 One of those listening was a woman from the city of Thyatira named Lydia, a dealer in purple cloth. She was a worshiper of God. The Lord opened her heart to respond to Paul’s message. 15 When she and the members of her household were baptized, she invited us to her home. “If you consider me a believer in the Lord,” she said, “come and stay at my house.” And she persuaded us.

Now let me take this one step further.

Thyatira is one of the churches in Revelation 2:18-29

Revelation 2:18-23

18 “To the angel of the church in Thyatira write:  These are the words of the Son of God, whose eyes are like blazing fire and whose feet are like burnished bronze. 19 I know your deeds, your love and faith, your service and perseverance, and that you are now doing more than you did at first.  0 Nevertheless, I have this against you: You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophet. By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols. 21 I have given her time to repent of her immorality, but she is unwilling. 22 So I will cast her on a bed of suffering, and I will make those who commit adultery with her suffer intensely, unless they repent of her ways. 23 I will strike her children dead. Then all the churches will know that I am he who searches hearts and minds, and I will repay each of you according to your deeds.

The key passage here is that God had given her time to repent but she was unwilling.

Who was Jezebel?  She was King Ahab’s wife-the meanest, vilest, most wicked woman in the bible.  Do you know how she died?  Read the scripture to find out:

2 Kings 30

33 “Throw her down!” Jehu said. So they threw her down, and some of her blood spattered the wall and the horses as they trampled her underfoot.34 Jehu went in and ate and drank. “Take care of that cursed woman,” he said, “and bury her, for she was a king’s daughter.” 35 But when they went out to bury her, they found nothing except her skull, her feet and her hands. 36 They went back and told Jehu, who said, “This is the word of the LORD that he spoke through his servant Elijah the Tishbite: On the plot of ground at Jezreel dogs will devour Jezebel’s flesh.[f] 37 Jezebel’s body will be like dung on the ground in the plot at Jezreel, so that no one will be able to say, ‘This is Jezebel.’”

As I write this I recall that Pastor Ronnie spoke about Jezebel a few weeks ago.  Do you remember?

Back to the dream…

People were getting out of the pool but they weren’t dripping wet, they were already dried off.  Patti and I were standing on the sidelines doing something-but I’m not clear what that was.  The building was cement block, unfinished.  So it was like the pool area was walled off partially and partially open to the air.  As people were getting out of the pool, other people were coming inside to look around.  Then the dream sort of transitioned to the outside.  Jay and Jeff were showing people around.  It was a compound.  Circular.  There were blocks piled up and tools laying around.  We had to step over things to get where we needed to go.  Patti and I were taking care of the kids and showing other mothers around where the children would be.  There were a lot of people there.  Too many to count.

Then the dream changed to me doing a painting.  On the canvas I had squirted out a line of crimson red paint.  It had dried up.  When I added water to it it turned into flowing red paint.

End of dream.

OOTBWC is increasing in numbers every week.  This is a fact.  There are now so may people there that I don’t know many of them.  Eventually there needs to be a bigger place, another service, whatever.  I don’t have those answers.  I just know what I see with my eyes.  It has been incredible to watch and be a part of.  The Kingdom of God has been mightily blessed and so has our church. 

I think that the meaning of the dried up red paint is this:  I see, feel and hear from people who come into OOTBWC.  What I am hearing is that people are desperate for God.  People are hurting.  People are dried up spiritually.  I don’t know all the reasons why, nor do I need to know.  But I have heard quite a few.  The people that are coming to OOTBWC are being nourished, revived and watered by their fellow Christians. The dried up paint represents their dryness and the flowing red paint represents their nourishment.  It is red because they are hearing the infallible Word of God.  They are hearing truths about who their Savior is and how God works in our lives.  They are receiving the redeeming blood of Christ. 

I know this because people have shared this with me. 

I don’t know what God’s plans are but I do know that this is the second dream I have had that has to do with large amounts of people coming in and OOTBWC needing more space.

So, let me encourage you to PRAY about how God is leading YOU to be involved in this growing ministry of First United Methodist Church Hillsville.  Are you like Lydia whose heart was opened to God after hearing a message?  Are you feeling led to be baptized?  Are you willing to turn your life over to GOD and watch him work a mighty miracle in and through you? 

Don’t be like Jezebel who was unwilling and stubborn and died in her sins.  Instead-come to the healing waters and let God’s grace flow over, around and in you.  Drink it in, come to water….

Peace and Grace to you,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

