12 days of fasting: I have discovered who I am and am NOT!

Standard

Hello!

Today is day 12 and praise GOD I am doing great!  I’ve been trying to switch over to the Daniel fast-where you eat fruits and veggies only-no meat, chicken or dairy.  I’ll be honest-I’m still not hungry and I keep asking myself how much should I add back?  Yesterday I had one baby carrot ( I know that sounds so funny-doesn’t it? ) and a bowl of tomato soup.  I didn’t WANT anything else- although those freshly fried FF someone had at youth last night SMELLED SO GOOD! 

Ok, so today I have had 3 baby carrots and a whole lotta water/gatorade.  You see what I have learned ( from this great book on fasting: “A Woman’s Guide to Fasting” by Lisa Nelson) is that after 3 or 4 days your stomach begins to rest.  If you drink fruit ,vegetable juices, water, or gatorade it will stay in the rest mode.  BUT, if you drink anything with protein in it your stomach will “wake up.”   We don’t want to wake up the growling monster before it is time.  Lol 

Now I am not saying this is easy because it certainly is not.  It takes persistent prayer and continual conversation with God.  Focus, focus, focus.  So, I was in the snack aisle at Wal Mart today, getting goodies for Resurrection.  What caught my eye?  NUTS!  Not chocolate or sweets-but NUTS.   I swung my cart around and left right away.  I recognized the signs of temptation.  Once I was away-I was okay.  I love salty, crunchy stuff so much that they have become an idol.  I would sit down and eat a whole bag of Krunchers sweet BBQ chips all by myself.  When I got done, I’d tip the bag up to my mouth for the crumbs and then lick my fingers.  Alone, by myself, where no one was watching.  How is that for an idol?  That’s pretty dangerous if you ask me.  I am finding out that confession is good for the soul.  It is cleansing. In order to move forward with God, it is necessary.   Confess your sins before GOD and save yourself from the Krunchers!  Seriously.    If I were to continue that bad habit it would end up killing me.   Now we can’t have that, can we?  I will not be killed by a potato chip idol.

How about you?

What’s your idol?  What do you do when no one is looking?  God see’s it all-so don’t fool yourself. 

Will you lay it down and pick up God instead? 

I DARE YOU!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

