The Exodus Journey

Standard

Little DEE

I am amazed at how God works and I hope my amazement never stops!  Sometimes I feel like a child in these moments-learning something new and having little “aha” moments!  Like a child who loves to sit on her Daddy’s lap she also likes to play and wrestle with him too!   Both are necessary! 

Yesterday I sat with my heavenly Father as He taught me many things about His Son.  I was overwhelmed with joy when my darkness turned to light.  I am certain that the 2 million Israelites felt this same joy as they passed through the Red Sea on their Exodus journey. 

We all have an Exodus journey-a passing of sorts through our own Red Sea.  I would define our enemy as sin chasing us.  The Israelites were chased by a big bad army of Egyptians on horses, and in chariots with spears and arrows and armor.  Who wouldn’t be afraid of that?  Not only that, God was asking them to do something impossible!  “You want me to cross the Red Sea?  Are you nuts? I can’t do THAT!  I can’t even swim and I have children and a job and a family to care for, why would the neighbors think?  But…but…but….”   All they could see was the Red Sea.  They couldn’t see the other side to freedom.

Aren’t we the same way?   Don’t we look at our “impossible task” ( and it is different for all of us) with our selfish eyes and not our spiritual eyes?   We stammer, stumble, fall, wail, whine, make excuses and moan.  But guess what?  None of that helps at all because the task is still in front of you.  Sin is chasing you all the way to the edge of destruction.  You either bail backwards into sin or you jump into the arms of the One who loves you. 

We must see beyond the task and focus on the light that is ahead of us.  This is what happened to the Israelites during their passage over the rocky floor of the Red Sea.

Exodus 13:21

By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night. 22 Neither the pillar of cloud by day nor the pillar of fire by night left its place in front of the people.

God is always present and He has gone ahead of us in everything that we will ever do.  Don’t ever forget that.  We must look UP when we walk, work, and even in our times of wailing and moaning.  When we do we will see the glorious light that is guiding us to all Truth.  Sometimes it takes a certain person, a Moses, to help us see the light.  We must quit looking back at sin and comfort and move forward, one step at a time.

WE must make that decision. 

Will I stay here or will I go?

Will we stay stuck in the muck of our sinful mess? 

 

Will we continue to hug that bottle of sin and stumble in a stupor until we find our way home, or kill someone while driving there ?    Or will we get mad at that bottle and face our biggest challenge?  Put it down, get help and look to God for guidance?   The sin inside that bottle could be anything- alcohol, food addiction, drug addiction, sexual addiction, cheating, lying, adultery.  Only YOU know what is in your bottle and believe me-we all have a bottle.  There is no perfect person. 

 

 

Oh, but wait, there is ONE!  He’s right in front of you-waiting for you to decide what you’re going to do.  His name is Jesus Christ and he’s encouraging you to put the bottle down and empty yourself into Him.  He longs to be first in your life.   He’s standing right there-arms out, spread wide, just waiting for you to look in his direction so He can catch your eye with His twinkly life light just as he did the Israelites as they crossed their own Red Sea. 

Did they make it?  You bet!  Was it easy? No! Were they scared? Yep.  Did God ever leave them?  NO!  They kept walking, putting one foot in front of another until they made it to the other side, and when they did they sang their hearts out in great celebration! 

This is their song of salvation!

Exodus 15

I’m singing my heart out to God—what a victory!
      He pitched horse and rider into the sea.
God is my strength, God is my song,
      and, yes! God is my salvation.
This is the kind of God I have
      and I’m telling the world!
This is the God of my father—
      I’m spreading the news far and wide!

 

Will you allow God to pitch your sin into the sea?

What will your song be? 

A slurred song of the drunkenness of sin or one of the VICTORY of God?

I choose victory and it is my prayer that you do too!

Light for your journey,

d.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

