The “Present”

Standard

100_1738

So, today I spent the afternoon wailing on old barnwood in the woodshed.  The harder I hammered the more God spoke to me.  He showed me how our sin is like this steel-hard, cold and immovable.  As I bent and pried and hammered I felt a weight leave me and a vision began forming.  Not an “ezekiel” vision- but a plan. 

I began how to see the ugliness of the old wood and the weight of the steel was like sin.  It keeps us from seeing the cross.  As you can see here the cross is hard to see as it blends in with the other wood, but there IS a cross there.  Seeing it in person helps! 

Every piece of steel, nail, bolt and barbed wire shows our sin.  It gets heavy, chaotic, messed up, twisted and just not right.  The only thing that can make it right is the love of God.  The heart is connected to the end of the barbed wire to show the contrast between good and evil, unforgiveness and forgiveness.  Without love we are nothing but a lump of old stuff.  But with love we are everything.  Love never fails.

I cut the heart out of a piece of cedar that I had from a friend’s old kitchen cabinets.  It’s aroma was sweet and it reminded me of the aroma of Christ.

Ephesians 5: 1-2

1Imitate God, since you are the children he loves. 2Live in love as Christ also loved us. He gave his life for us as an offering and sacrifice, a soothing aroma to God.

What better way to share that than with a piece of fresh cut cedar?  Perfect!  As I was sanding the cedar- a little knot came out-leaving behind a hole in the heart.  You see, it reminded me of the soldier who thrust his sword through Christ’s side while he was dying on the cross.  Can you imagine being there that day?   I can’t.  That hole is a reminder to me of the love that God poured out on that day. 

There is LIFE in death.

Die to self and live for Christ. 

Today the cross is empty.  A baby came down to shower us with love. That baby grew to a man and died on a tree. But he’s not dead. Far from it!   He sits at the right hand of God the Father waiting to hear from YOU!

Will you answer Him before it’s too late?  There’s no time like the “present.”  ( And believe me- it IS a present!!!) 

blessings for your holdiays,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

