Oh Holy Night

Standard

Hi!

I’ve been busy in the wood shed!  I love Christmas because it is the birth of our Lord and Savior.  I don’t especially like all the other stuff that is associated with Christmas.  Every year I try to make decorations from the things I already have.   I have a stack of old barnwood in the shed so I decided to make a primitive nativity from this wood. 

The project turned into one of much needed therapy and it has turned my focus to the One of who loves us!  Jesus! 

DSCF1215

 

Here is Joseph, Mary and shepherd boy.

DSCF1216

 

Here is the “baby” in the manger.

“Oh Holy Night…”

God sent a baby to get our attention.  How could a baby save the world?  By growing into a man who loved his Father so much that He gave His life on the cross…for you and for me. 

When we look at the cross we don’t think of the baby do we?  I didn’t until God lifted my veil years ago.  The only way we can have that veil lifted is by studying God’s Word and prayer.   I don’t mean just reading your bible, I mean get down and dig into it with shovel and a pick.  Devour it, get it inside of you, study the history, the time, the traditions.  Then do it again, again, and again. 

When I look at this cross laying in the manger here is what comes to my mind…DSCF1217

The purpose of the  life of the baby was to take the sin of the world upon Him.  The tiny hands and feet grew up to teach, to love, to heal and to die.  Those little hands and feet were created to take the nails, the torture and the death so that we might live.  I know it is hard to wrap your mind around, but it’s really a beautiful thing.  God sees the whole plan where we only see a little bit of it, our part of it.  His plan is one of redeeming love.  To get our attention, to grab our hearts and hold on tight so that he can cover us with a blanket of grace and love.  He woos us with the love of a baby boy born in a stable on a dark night in Bethlehem.  A boy that would grow into a man and die on a cross.

Today that cross is empty and it tells the story of my true love who has gone ahead to prepare a place for me….and for you….

but you won’t get there if you don’t do one thing first…

BELIEVE and accept Christ into your heart as the Lord and Savior of your life. 

Once you totally BELIEVE then God will transform your life from the inside out.  Other things will begin to fall away and become meaningless.  Things that consumed your time like watching tv, shopping, eating, drinking, gossiping, fighting, etc., etc..  This happens over time and with prayer, study, and fellowship.  It takes work on your part and it is not a magic pill.  When you start praying for the desires of God’s heart to become yours they will a little at a time.  God will expand your knowledge in such a way that it will blow your mind.  It’s hard to imagine now, but it will happen.  It takes a desire and willingness to learn about your Creator and Father in Heaven.  He is so much more than you can ever imagine. 

 

 

Star

DSCF1218

The Wise men with their gifts.

DSCF1219

Faith is moving without knowing.  What did the wise men do?  They traveled in faith and followed a star. 

What will you do?

Will you follow the light that holds Life? 

Jesus said, “ I am the WAY, the TRUTH and the LIFE. 

Come…follow me…” 

you’ll never be the same…I promise….d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. AMAZING !! You really outdid yourself this time !!! It is beautiful and so simply wonderful. I really like it !!!! I am amazed again at your talent and ideas, they just flow out of you. Mr. Meadway must be extremely proud of you as we all are. The star….now that is exceptional !!

Leave a Reply

