A twinkle

Standard

Communing with Jesus

I entered the sanctuary.

I looked around.

I saw the smiling faces of my family.

We exchanged hellos and hugs.

I sat down in the pew.

My eye caught the communion table.

I had forgotten it was communion Sunday.

I took a deep breath and  then let out a soft sigh.

I was home.

I miss home.

I miss family.

A friend sat down next to me.

The music played.

My eyes kept looking at the table that was so beautifully set.

Something was different.

What was it?

I couldn’t take my eyes off the way the sheet was draped over the table.

I knew what was under there.

bread.

juice.

But was that really what it was?

Somehow it was different today.

different…

or was it me?

I kept staring at it while the music played.

I couldn’t take my eyes off of it.

It was almost as if a body was laying there

under the sheet.

That was crazy!

A body?

In church?

Why not?

Maybe that’s what God wanted me to see.

His Son.

Laid out

in preparation for me.

Why had I never noticed this before?

Was it my vantage point?

Was it my heart?

or was I just hungry to see Jesus?

I imagined the sheet rising and Jesus coming forth.

My yearning to see Christ was strong and relentless.

The Pastor began to preach.

My eyes still watched the sheet

and my ears heard about the beauty that awaited there.

communion.

It comes in many ways.

This day it was enveloping all of my senses.

I felt myself leaning in

getting closer

to hear what God had to say to me

through the pastor.

It was as if God was speaking directly

into the depths of my heart.

watering my dry spirit

encouraging my soul

and feeding my heart. 

I ached for it.

He spoke about the beauty of the bride

and the way a groom’s eyes twinkle

when the bride enters the sanctuary

on their wedding day.

He explained that this was how God

was going to see us when he comes back.

His eyes would be twinkling

and he wouldn’t see anyone else but me.

me.

The beauty of Christ will catch our eye

and we will never be able to look away

never be able to take our eyes off of Him.

Oh how I long for that day.

More than riches or treasures.

Christ is our treasure.

Our ONLY treasure.

The tears of my soul let loose.

They slid down my cheeks in joy.

No sadness here.

Only joy in hearing God’s promises.

 

The sheet was removed to reveal the Body of Christ

in the form of bread and juice.

I had already seen the beautiful body of Christ

through the wonderful words spoken by God’s anointed  messenger.

I took the bread and juice

recalling to mind what Christ did for me.

He took it all

every curse, spit, slap, flog

blood dripping

flesh falling away

silent screams of agony

to reveal the beauty

and newness of life

that awaits us.

RESURRECTION

new life

are you ready?

are you preparing to meet your groom?

are you prepared to meet the eyes

of the One who loves you?

I am.

Get ready because time is short

in a twinkle of the eye…

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

