Father God and Faithful Friends

Standard

god-7

(art from internet)

I have a dear friend who challenges me to see beyond the veil of the ugliness of evil.  Instead,  she suggests that I longingly peer into the land of the country where Christ lives today.   “A country far beyond the stars.” 

God knows our every need-of this I am convinced.  I cannot explain what my soul feels in my own words, so let me explain it to you through the voices of the past-of Henry Vaughn, St. Teresa of Avila and Michelangelo. 

 

“Peace”

by Henry Vaughn  ( 1621-1695)

My soul, there is a country

far beyond the stars,

Where stands a winged sentry

All skilful in the wars:

There, above the noise and danger,

Sweet Peace sits crown’d with smiles,

And one born in a manger

Commands the beauteous files.

 

purple creation

The Life of St. Teresa of Avila

St. Teresa of Avila  (151-1582)

“It was during mass on the feast of St.Paul, when Jesus Christ deigned to appear before me complete in his very holy incarnation, indescribably beautiful and majestic as he is depicted in paintings of him resurrected…

I never saw this vision with the eyes of my body or any other, only with the eyes of my soul….Sometimes I thought that what I could see was nothing more than a painting; but on many occasions it was obviously Jesus Christ himself;  much depended on how clearly he wanted to reveal himself to me.”

 

michelangelo

 

and finally from the beloved Michelangelo…

“Sonnet LXXII”

Michelangelo  ( 1475-1564)

Then let me see you wherever I go.

If merely mortal beauty makes me burn,

How much more strongly I shall shine and glow

When to your fiery love at last I turn.

Dear God, I call and plead with you alone,

For only you can help my blinding pain;

You only have the power to sustain my courage.

I am helpless

on

my

own.

hands reaching

As the new day was dawning I was working in the studio thinking about life.  Life is hard.  Life can suck the joy right out of you…if you let it.  We cannot let that happen.  My friend has a way of telling me this without saying it out loud.  She is God’s messenger.  I know that God has put her in my life to pry my earthly eyes open to the TRUTH that awaits me.  To SEE God for who HE is! 

We cannot let the challenges of this world cloud God’s vision for LIFE.  It’s not life here, but there- in that country among the stars, that awaits us. It’s there for everyone-ALL PEOPLE-even those we find hard to love or even like.     We MUST cover ourselves with a garment of love-the same garment that Jesus Himself was covered in.  It covers a multitude of sins. 

Yes, even the worst kind.

We must pray for the blinding pain of the sin of this earthly life to be lifted and taken away.  We can’t do it by our own power or might.  We can only do it through the guidance of the Holy Spirit and by our surrendering to pray.  We may not know what to say but the Holy Spirit hears the groaning of our hearts.  I believe that in time, and with diligence, our prayers will turn into a fiery and passionate love for all people and that when people look upon us they will see a glimmer of the Light of Christ.  It’s the only light that can lead people Home.  Will you light the way?

 

Thank you friend.  You light the way for many and it is my prayer that many will come Home because of what God is doing through you and your all consuming love for Christ. 

I am humbled to know you.

love me.

The%20Creation#1#

 

 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

