Late night ramblings

Standard

It has been another week full of lessons;they are coming so fast I can hardly think straight.  Lessons on leadership, organization, trust, faith and just being in the presence of God.  He is always with me, but I’m not always with Him.  He longs to feed me the right food, but I often pick the junk food over the healthy food.  Why?   Human nature I guess. 

I worked in the studio all day on Wednesday and permeated my being with the Word of God.  I put my CD’s in from John – Acts and just breathed in the Word of God while I worked.  I had a sense of “ahhhhh, this is just what I needed.”  Peace. 

I looked at scripture from Exodus 18 where Jethro, Moses’ father-in-law comes to visit.  Here is what he says after he realizes that the work situation is not as it should be.  He gives Moses some advice:

“What you’re doing is not good. 18You and your people will wear yourselves out. This is too much work for you. You can’t do it alone! 19Now listen to me, and I’ll give you some advice. May God be with you! You must be the people’s representative to God and bring their disagreements to him. 20You must instruct them in the laws and the teachings, show them how to live, and tell them what to do.

21“But choose capable men from all the people, men who fear God, men you can trust, men who hate corruption. Put them in charge of groups of 1,000, or 100, or 50, or 10 people. 22Let them be the ones who usually settle disagreements among the people. They should bring all important cases to you, but they should settle all minor cases themselves. Make it easier for yourself by letting them help you.”

No matter how hard we try to get things done-we can’t do them alone.  It is necessary to perform as a team, within a team and with a leader/leaders.   Moses was the leader, Jethro was the advisor.  He was advising Moses to get some help-but not just any help-trustworthy help.  Each group would have a trustworthy leader and all groups would work together for the sake of God.   I wonder if this is where the Methodist denomination got it’s “committee” thinking? 

The main point for me this week was this:  “Make it easier for yourself by letting them help you.”  Point well taken, Dad. ( wink wink)

I have also had to take a step back and say, “ ok, what is the goal here and what is the first thing we have to do to reach that goal?  Once that is fulfilled, what is the next and on and on.  Am I making things too hard by going around and around that same mountain over and over again?  OR will I let it go and let God lead?  Me thinks I will let God lead on this one.  I don’t do too well in the dancing department-just ask my husband! 

Father and I have been doing the two step lately- two steps ahead, two steps behind, two to the right, two to the left.  Somehow I wind up right back where I started from.  Am I an Israelite?  I dare say that I could be.  Oh my, here comes that mountain again!   Oh what fun it is!

Last night we had a little 10 year old friend over.  I asked her a question and she replied with an honest answer, ( with a definite southern twang) ” Heck if I know-I ain’t got no ‘smarticles!”   hahahahahahahahahahaha  I laughed at that child for 30 minutes!  I mean I was not breathing laughing-the silent killer laugh.  My family thought I had absolutely lost my mind and maybe I had for a few minutes.  It sure was funny to me and I needed that belly buster gut laugh!   

So, where do I go from here?  Over the mountain, under it, through it or around it? 

Heck if I know, I ain’t got no smarticles, but I do have a map-it’s called my bible-God’s plan for the world.  The plan is this:  get as many people to heaven as possible-it don’t matter what they are wearin’, where they been, or how much money they got-just grab ‘em and get ‘em there-quick!   Don’t waste time because the clock is a tickin’….

tick…tock…

do you hear the sound of a trumpet in the distance?  You better quit going around that mountain and start going over it because ya gotta get to the other side with ever’body with ya…

clomp…clomp…clomp…

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

