What do seeds have to do with faith?

Standard

 

This past week I attended mini jubilation.  I also spoke and did a drawing about faith.  Here are my notes and my pencil sketch. 

I love the beauty of Fall and seeing all of the colors of the leaves. I love trees in every shape and form. Trees remind me of God. They keep me focused on our Savior. They stand tall and upright with their arms stretched toward heaven. They represent strength, faith, victory and renewal. When I see a tree I see the cross where Christ died. But I don’t see death, I see renewal, which is why I love fall. I see the trees losing their leaves as a way of God renewing His promises to us. When we come to know Christ we are told to put off the old self and put on the new. Think about it like this: When fall comes, we all want to go out and look at the beauty of the trees. They are beautiful! Our focus is turned to the beauty of the colors. But what is really underneath? After the leaves are gone the trees are naked-baring their souls for the world to see. We see all the cracks, crooks, crannies and bird’s nests! It’s the same way with us. When we accept Christ as our Savior we are to put off our old self and put on Christ. This means getting rid of, or shedding our selfish desires, just as the tree sheds it leaves. It’s only when God gets rid of all of our “stuff” that we can see the real person underneath.

Trees come from seeds. Remember in Genesis when God planted the earth? He planted the tree of Life in the middle of the garden of Eden. He also planted the tree that the cross was cut from. Have you ever thought about that? God gave us seeds to sow to replant the earth. He gave Abraham the seeds he needed to plant the tamarisk tree in Gen 21. This tree has tiny flowers that hold thousands of seeds, seeds that will generate new life in the form trees. Is it any wonder that God had Abraham plant a tree full of seeds? In Genesis 15 God tells Abraham to look at the stars and count them and then he tells him that if he can count them that that is how many descendants he will have! Abraham had to have unspeakable faith to believe that God would give him that many descendants, considering he was 99 and his wife had not been able to have children. Scripture says, “ So, shall thy seed be.”

( Gen 15: 5) In my mind I can see Abraham looking up at the stars and counting his seedlings! However, the best verse is verse 6: AND HE BELIEVED.

 

Seeds of faith w frame

 

I just started working with 3rd, 4th and 5 th graders. I stand amazed at how God still has a plan for me at the age of 50. I feel like I am just getting going on this journey called life. Just like a tree takes a long time to mature, so have I! I’m not there yet, but I am beginning to see little fruit pods here and there and it is exciting! Abraham’s story gives me hope in my heart that our purpose will never leave us, no matter what our age is.

Let me tell you about our kids….they are excited and full of the love and joy of Jesus. They can’t sit still and they are jumping up and down with ideas of how to share God with others. They have given me much to ponder over and study about! Their energy is infectious and I feel like I have been renewed each time I am with them. These children are from the seeds of faith that were sown by you long ago. Not just my kids, but all kids. In fact, I believe they were in the sky as stars the night that God told Abraham to look up and count his descendants!

I thank God for Abraham’s BELIEF system, just as I do these kids. The amaze me!

We’ve been talking about faith, seeds and trees. They picked the name “ Seeds of FAITH” for their class! They even came up with a t-shirt design that I am very humbled by. Hebrews 11:1-3 says “Faith assures us of things we expect and convinces us of the existence of things we cannot see. 2God accepted our ancestors because of their faith.

3Faith convinces us that God created the world through his word. This means what can be seen was made by something that could not be seen.

( I handed out roasted pumpkin seeds and asked everyone to think of their seed as the life of a child.  I asked them to pray for a child who comes to mind-any child anywhere.  Standing there looking at my own seed, I was humbled to think of the life that would spring forth when that seed was planted in the right place to be nurtured, watered, fed and cared for.) 

I asked this question on FB yesterday: “What are seeds of faith?” My friend and co-teacher Brenda answered with this: “A tiny little seed holds an entire plant inside it…and it must have the proper nutrients and “SON”light to grow–it can’t be scattered on the wrong type of soil. I read a saying once that storms make the oak tree grow deeper roots. So if it has to persist against some trials, the roots of it’s faith would grow stronger. Our young people have the potential to change our world and grow into mature, strong, deeply rooted-in-faith adults. But we have to nurture them with prayer and God’s Word, create an environment that feeds them each week, allow them to be expressive in whatever way they can and maybe guide them through some storms which will help their faith grow…then as they grow and mature, they will share their faith with others, and sow their own seeds….”

So, today I thank you for your lifetime of faithful obedience in sowing seeds, watering, feeding and nurturing what God has given each of you to plant. Seasons change, but our purpose in life never ends and our eternity depends on our faithfulness to share His Word with the world just as Abraham did, no matter what age we are!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

