Seeking God

Standard

100_1209

  I love trees.  I love roots.  I love wood.

God speaks to me as I work with it.  It reminds me of Jesus.  It reminds me of the love of my heavenly Father. 

100_0961 (2)

Yesterday I was building a 4’ cross on a stand for a friend.  The wood came from a local farm and had been sitting in the shed for quite some time.  It was hard, stained, dirty and just perfect for this project.  As I began to work on it, I thought about the cross where Jesus died.  I know it was much, much bigger than this one.  I used my saw and chisel.  When I tried to hammer the nail into the wood the nail bent!  I tried several times.  I wondered about hardened hearts and how some were possibly as hard as this wood was.  So, then I tried the drill and screws.  Same thing.  The screws wouldn’t go anywhere.  I had to switch tactics.  So I found some square nails and they went right through!  Well, I had to put the base onto the bottom to make a stand and when I did that I realized my drill was on the wrong setting.  I needed to turn it to high torque for the screws.  Once I did this they zipped right through the wood!  It was a humble reminder to me of how I need to be on the right setting to hear God before I am able to do His work. 

Lord, thank you for taking the time to make me listen and thank you for making me take the time to seek you. 

I love you!

I’ve got to get this cd!  Listen to this song closely- more than once- do you hear it?  Put your ear buds in!  Beautiful, chilling and glorious!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

