I stand at the door and knock

Standard

 

Episcopal church

 

Hi!

Over the weekend I had the opportunity to visit the Seneca Falls Episcopal Church, better known as the sinking church.  It sits on a piece of property right next to the canal in Seneca Falls.  While I was there it was lovingly being taken care of.  The copper spire was being polished and that’s what caught my attention in the first place!    I took a lot of photos and then meandered inside.  Oh me Oh my!  Was I ever in for a surprise!  I had lived in Seneca Falls for 26 years and had never been inside!   I have to say that I caught my breath at the sight of these windows!

window with jesus

There was a church member inside who was sort of showing people around, as I wasn’t the only one there.  She told me that this particular window was her favorite.  She also said that she had been a church member there for 72 years and that as long as she can remember this window always looked lit up, no matter what time of the day or night it was.  There are no lights, no bulbs, all stained glass.   It is magnificent!

Jesus

 

This is a close up of the lantern.  Looks lit to me!  But there really wasn’t anything lighting it…

lantern

 

It is amazing to me and I have fallen in love with this little place!  The colors are bright and they just grab your soul right away, drawing you closer to view the details up close.  As I did I noticed that the windows were made in Great Britain!  Wow!

Cort also came looking for me and he told me that he was baptized here.  I had no idea.

He also attended SS and was an altar boy.  wow!   Look at him now!  All grown up…

This is definitely a church full of traditions with her kneeling rails, brass candelabras and choir robes.  I loved seeing it!   I can only imagine the many prayers that have been whispered there and the lives of the people who have knelt there year, after year.   My husband is one of those people.   I sensed a holiness there-one that cannot be described in words.  It reminded me so much of my trip to Slovakia.  I thought I had gone back for a few moments! 

100_1052

I loved sharing this moment with Cort.   It was unexpected and a reminder of how God always loves us, and is always yearning for us to “come home.”   This week I really went home.  I saw things with new eyes and many things have changed inside of my heart.  There are no words, except to say that I have experienced the love of our heavenly father in a supernatural, indescribable way.  An answer to prayer.  Thank you Lord! 

Jesus at  door

Jesus is knocking.  How will you answer?

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful ! and you learned a lot about the church and also Cort ! Wow, what an experience. I have been in that church but not the sanctuary and will definitely have to make a visit now.

  2. Beautiful! And you’re right that lamp is definitely lit-Holy Spirit Power–Jesus is knocking patiently on every heart out there. SO glad you were able to spend this precious time with your family!! (And on a lighter note, might I say that even Cort’s head looks to have a little “glow”) 🙂

Leave a Reply

