Seeing God’s Word through the art of Alex

Standard

100_9999

I am blessed, blessed, blessed!  You see, I have this young friend named Alex who has just started his journey with Jesus!  His family joined our church and he was baptized not long ago.  I have had the opportunity, through several life groups and bible studies to get to know the family better.  Needless to say I have adopted them ALL!  Brenda is like my twin sister-even though we look nothing alike ( although there are people who think she is my daughter…LOL ) we share very similar life experiences and our hearts share a desire to reach out to the poor and needy.  I am a little older than she is and I have repeatedly heard myself telling her how much she reminds me of me when I was younger.  She loves photography and one day we went out taking pictures all over the county.  Looking at them later we laughed at how similar our photos were.

Brenda’s hubby, Kerry, reminds me of Cort and these guys are so alike in personality,  patience, and humor,  it is uncanny.  All I can say is that God knew we would need men like Cort and Kerry in our lives!  Without them our life portrait would be an unfinished work of art.  They love God and family.  They complete us.

Casey is their  adorable 3 year old , a  vibrant young little lady who has captured both of my daughter’s hearts.  She is like this little blonde jumping bean who is full of energy, life, laughter, fun and joy!

100_9969

Alex is their 9 year old son and I have discovered that this kid has talent!   First of all he loves my motorcycle and I will never forget the first time he sat on it and revved it up!  I can still see that smile Mom!!!!  He is young man who is curious about life and asks questions all the time!  He loves everyone-especially  his little sister.  The two of them together will melt your heart!

Well, last night I was blessed to be able to sit with them at SNL.  Evan was preaching from John.  He was talking about how Jesus is the vine and we are the branches.  He went into great detail about the vine, branches and grapes.  (Evan-if you are reading this- I love it that you described it so well!  That truly helps people see and feel the message you are trying to convey. Well done!  )    Anyway- after the message was over Alex turned to me and said, “ Donna, what did you see while he was preaching?”  I said, “ What did YOU see Alex?”  He responded with this:  “ I saw a vine with grapes growing on a cross!”  My heart did a flip and the HS kicked in!    I asked Alex if he could see himself drawing on a sheet, like I do, to what Evan was preaching and he said, ‘ yes!”  So I called Evan over and we shared that with him and he got excited too!  I asked Evan to pray about doing something together in the future.

Then I asked Alex if he had ever seen a grapevine.  He said no.  I suggested that his dad take him to see one.  I also showed him what wood grain looks like by using the pews we were sitting in as examples.  It was a teaching moment!  His Dad pulled up a grape leaf on his blackberry and we talked about the leaf being in the shape of a heart with jaggedy edges.  BTW-Have you ever looked at a grape leaf? Smile)  I wanted Alex to see it as shape and not as a leaf.  Sometimes we have to get the object out of our mind and see the shape before we can draw it.   Anyway I could feel the HS in these moments and I heard a very excited young man who wants to learn how to do chalk art.   I’m excited!

After I got home this is what I received on my FB page:

Alex’s vision from Evan’s message!

Alex's cross

Picture 1

John 15

1Then Jesus said, “I am the true vine, and my Father takes care of the vineyard. 2He removes every one of my branches that doesn’t produce fruit. He also prunes every branch that does produce fruit to make it produce more fruit.

3“You are already clean[a] because of what I have told you. 4Live in me, and I will live in you. A branch cannot produce any fruit by itself. It has to stay attached to the vine. In the same way, you cannot produce fruit unless you live in me.

5“I am the vine. You are the branches. Those who live in me while I live in them will produce a lot of fruit. But you can’t produce anything without me. 6Whoever doesn’t live in me is thrown away like a branch and dries up. Branches like this are gathered, thrown into a fire, and burned. 7If you live in me and what I say lives in you, then ask for anything you want, and it will be yours. 8You give glory to my Father when you produce a lot of fruit and therefore show that you are my disciples.

Today I am giving glory to God for this family and for their obedience in coming into fellowship with us here in Hillsville!  I can’t wait to see what God is going to do through each one of you!!!!

I am also giving glory to God for our Hillsville family for sending us out as missionaries to downtown Hillsville!  If I (we)  hadn’t gotten out of my comfort zone and into the world, I would never have met the Harmon family and would have never received such joy and blessings in knowing them!   This family is part of that fruit that John speaks of in verse 8!    Now they are putting their gifts to work to produce more fruit!  This is discipleship!

I am excited to be a part of this family and to be able nurture, pray for ,  and share in their excitement as they discover God’s gifts and purpose for their lives!

Blessings for your journey!

d.

Picture 2

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. OK I had this long comment typed because I couldn’t stand it and stopped to read this on the trail–and then I realized I had no signal!!!
    I am just amazed. At the love of our Father who in spite of where I was in my life loved me through it all to this place called Out of the Box Worship Center. He led me out of the muck that Evan talked about last night–picked me up, cleaned me off, and grafted me into the vine of this heavenly family that I have been given the privilege of meeting right here on earth. He led me to you, and Ronnie and his amazing family, and Amy, and Tony, and Cort, and Emily, and Corynn, and Evan, who my son was literally leaning forward to listen to last night! The list just goes on and on! Patti, Jeff, Jay, Suzanne—just LOOK at the family God has brought me to! And how our family has been CHANGED and nurtured by both the love of God and the love of these people! I just stand in awe that at some point a group of people took a trip to Georgia-and were inspired to come home and start this outreach….and at the same time my life was becoming a complete WRECK by my own decisions—God was readying HIS provisions for me and my family….paving the way for us to come to that church–laying it on April’s heart to not give up on me and keep asking me to come to church. I am just so humbled by this group of people He has surrounded me and my family with.
    I just want to shout it out that people NEED that fellowship of a loving church family to keep us grounded in the Word, growing our Spirits up in Christ. Nothing can take the place of that-it is VITAL.
    I love our new family-I love all of you Godwins–and I love you “Mom”! AND I love our Father for bringing us all together.

  2. hahahaha Brenda-there’s that scarlet thread girl…I am so thankful for you! Your kids have helped me find my joy again and it just keeps growing! WoO! Love it! I am thankful for our church family and their obedience in opening ootb and ootbwc. I can’t imagine life without these places or without you. It seems like we’ve known each other forever! Because we share a Father in Heaven-we have known each other that long! 🙂 We just hadn’t met yet-all things in God’s time! ALL things!!!!!! Keep running and keep looking up! Love you and thanking God for you!

Leave a Reply

