Spilling Out-Fall reflections

Standard

100_0925

 

Good Morning!

I’m feeling a little melancholy today. It’s raining, it’s dreary and it’ fall.  But don’t get me wrong-I’m not depressed, just reflecting over the year.  I haven’t been able to focus on much at all this week and I am feeling like I have a lot of loose ends floating around.   I feel like I want to hole up in the woods with paint, pencils and creativity.  I’ve always wanted a little shack in the woods to just go sit in and BE.  I have a shack but it’s not in the woods, but I guess I could change that if I planted trees all around it! LOL 

100_0929

My mind is on

trees

leaves

color

life

change

growth

stillness

and meeting God in those moments. 

 

100_0926

Hello God, it’s me again.  Will you sit with me awhile?  Will you color my life, change my heart, open my eyes and help me to grow into a  mighty oak tree for you?   Strong and bendable yet unwavering.  One that produces your sweet, delicious, juicy fruit?  I know you are there…I feel you in the stillness…I sense your presence in the color of the leaves and the smell of the earth.  I see you more than ever.  I see you in the eyes of the children when they recognize your voice through your people.  I see you in the tiny hand that grabs the adult hand and says, “come on, let’s run!”  I see you in the big chocolaty eyes of little boys who love to catch bubbles and play with monster trucks.  I hear you in the symphony of a young woman’s voice whose heart plays for you into the wee hours of the night.  I feel your joy in the happiness of a little girl who has realized her calling in life.  I hear your humor in the deep laughter of a man who loves his family and I feel your love coming from the pencil that is spent from hours of drawing about you.  

Jesus loves the children 2011

 

Lord, I’ve never felt you as near as you are now.  Can I stay here and sit awhile? 

No?  Why not Lord? 

 Oh.  I see.  You need me to go to work?  What do you mean there are people that don’t know you?  Are you kidding?  THAT MANY?  Where are they all Lord?

 Everywhere?  What do you mean around the corner?  How is that possible?  They what?  They feel lonely and alone? 

No Lord I didn’t see that person alone in their room last night, but I know you did.  They did what? 

They cried out for help to you? 

Oh I see, and I’m your hands and feet?  So, you want me to go talk to them?  But Lord, I’ll look like a fool.  I don’t know them.

 They what?  How can they know me? 

 Because I know you….

and you are the connection.

I think I get it now. 

You are the thread that weaves us all together. 

Hmmm.  Like a spider web, right? 

The more woven it is the tighter it becomes? 

 I see.  Hmmm.  Maybe I need to go look at some webs today. 

But it’s raining. 

They never stop weaving? 

Even in the rain?  What do you mean that’s just like you? 

Ah…now I am beginning to understand…you don’t want anyone to get caught in the web of deceit and denial.  Well, that’s it Lord.  I guess I better go to work.  Thanks for sitting with me for a few minutes this morning Lord.  I sure do love our conversations!  What?

You love me too? 

( sigh) I’ll see you in the morning, right? 

Oh! That’s right, I forgot.

 You will be with me wherever I go! 

 Thanks for the reminder! 

little ole me  Smile

scarlet thread

(The Scarlet Thread of Christ that binds us together)

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

