Evangelism and art

Standard

 

 

He's got the whole world 2

During a conversation today it occurred to me that most people probably don’t see Christian art as evangelism.   But I do.  ( See, I WAS listening!) Most just think of art as a pretty painting or something you hang on your wall.  Yes, it IS that; however it can be so much MORE!  It has the power to move a soul from one side of the dark chasm to the other.  It has the strength to bring a sinner to their knees in repentance.  It can also bring joy where there is none and it can have an attitude of prayer.  It can speak Truth through telling a story and bring people to a deeper understanding of who Christ is.  Not all art is pretty but all art does have a message.  Some messages are hard and others are easy.  In order to understand the art you have to know the heart of the artist.  This means building a relationship.  This takes work, time, commitment, prayer, love and even accountability.  

Living WaterTurn Back to GodThe Offering

For those of you who might not know me, I have developed a personal relationship with my Lord and Savior through studying His Word and then drawing it.   As I put pencil to paper I just let the Word of God come out of the pencil.  There is no real way to teach someone how to do this except to say that you must have an intimate connection with the Father and just let Him wash over you as you study, draw, doodle, pray and watch what happens.  You really have to get into the Word and out of the world.  You have to be so in tune with the Father that you refuse to put the pencil down until you are done.   I wish I could speak the way I draw.  I wish I could put into words what comes out of the pencil.  I wish I could do both together.  I pray that one day I will be able to do it and do it well.  Not for me, but for God. 

Resurrection Prayercome follow me fca

Sometimes I draw during a song or sermon in church and I have to say it’s like baring your soul to the world because you are placing every fear, every lack of confidence and every bit of yourself at the foot of the cross.  People see every mark you make at the same time you do. No erasers, no do overs, you are just out there on a wing and a prayer.  Sometimes I prepare ahead of time but the past few times I‘ve done it, I haven’t prepared at all.  That’s wild.  It’s like getting up and preaching a sermon off the top of your head!

holyLampstand color

I love, love, love to draw about God’s Holy Word.  I can’t get enough of it, can’t do enough of it and even as I sit here I am thinking of a project I want to work on.  All of my art has a message and that message is that we have a God who loves us and wants us to live forever with Him.  We are His bride and He is our bridegroom.  He is our Lover.  Our first, our only and our true love.  Everything we do should revolve around Him, most often it doesn’t, because we don’t know how yet, but we can learn.  Art can inspire and compel people to just that- the same way that music does.   

 

Shoeboxes are like snowflakesShoebox girl 2011

 

The art that I do is not for a museum, it is not for a critic, although I have many critics, it is for God and God alone.  Sometimes it speaks loud, other times it speaks softly.  But it always has a voice!   It is my prayer that something you see here will compel you to move a little closer to God, to snuggle up under his wing or to jump across that ravine from death to life. 

hell 3

So, yes…art can be a form of evangelism.  Maybe one day I will compile all my drawings into a book and get it published…

look for future posts of these drawings and their meanings!

Blessings!

d.

(all art by Donna Godwin)

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

