Keep your gifts ablaze!

Standard

Disciple FIRE

2 Timothy 1:6-14

And the special gift of ministry you

received when I laid hands on you

and prayed—keep that ablaze!

 

God doesn’t want us

to be shy with his gifts,

but bold and loving and sensible.

 

8-10So don’t be embarrassed to speak up

for our Master or for me,

his prisoner.

Take your share of suffering

for the Message

along with the rest of us.

We can only keep on going,

after all,

by the power of God,

who first saved us and then called us

to this holy work.

We had nothing to do with it.

It was all his idea, a gift prepared

for us in Jesus long before we knew

anything about it. But we know it now.

 

Since the appearance of our Savior,

nothing could be plainer:

 

death defeated,

 

 life vindicated in a steady blaze of light,

 

all through the work of Jesus.

 

11-12This is the Message I’ve been set apart to

proclaim as preacher, emissary, and

teacher. It’s also the cause of all this

trouble I’m in. But I have no regrets.

I couldn’t be more sure of my ground—

the One I’ve trusted in can take care of

what he’s trusted me to do right to the

end.

 

13-14So keep at your work,

this faith and love

rooted in Christ,

exactly as I set it out for

you. It’s as sound as the day you first

heard it from me.

Guard this precious

thing placed in your

custody by the Holy Spirit

who works in us.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. You have definitely received a great big ol’ ball of fire! You amaze me, God amazes me-it just takes my breath away. Have you read only the red words you typed? Was that on purpose?

Leave a Reply

