Fan the Flame

Standard

Scan

2 Timothy 1:6

6You received a gift from God when I placed my hands on you to ordain you. Now I’m reminding you to fan that gift into flames. 7God didn’t give us a cowardly spirit but a spirit of power, love, and good judgment. 8So never be ashamed to tell others about our Lord or be ashamed of me, his prisoner. Instead, by God’s power, join me in suffering for the sake of the Good News. 9God saved us and called us to be holy, not because of what we had done, but because of his own plan and kindness.[b] Before the world began, God planned that Christ Jesus would show us God’s kindness. 10Now with the coming of our Savior Christ Jesus, he has revealed it. Christ has destroyed death, and through the Good News he has brought eternal life into full view. 11I was appointed to be an apostle and teacher and to spread this Good News.

12For this reason I suffer as I do. However, I’m not ashamed. I know whom I trust. I’m convinced that he is able to protect what he had entrusted to me until that day.

13With faith and love for Christ Jesus, consider what you heard me say to be the pattern of accurate teachings. 14With the help of the Holy Spirit who lives in us, protect the Good News that has been entrusted to you.

 

We are told to protect the Good News that has been entrusted to us.

PROTECT IT!

This means so many things to me that I don’t even know where to begin!   First of all- we can’t do it alone and we must rely on the HS to help us.   How do we protect it?  By standing firm in our faith.  By speaking up or out when we see other’s being wronged, by our actions, deeds and reactions.

Here are a few examples: Last weekend we went to see a movie and I never even thought to check the ratings.  Duh on me! Well, it wasn’t family friendly so we left and went shopping instead.  

My earlier inaction caused a reaction!  Ouch!

Today a book was brought home from school- similar to Harry Potter-which I do not like at all.  I had a fit.  I couldn’t believe the school had a book like this-promoting witchcraft and sorcery.  We had a family discussion and that book will no longer be read.    I am ready to turn off the tv and get the world out of my home.  I have realized how lax I have become over the summer about things and I am getting my house back in order.  (Shame on me!)  Not just our home, but my spiritual house as well.  THIS is how we protect the Good News.  We keep the bad stuff out of our homes and our lives.  I’m not perfect and I have a long way to go-but these are just a few examples.  Just another sign that I have been treading water.  No more! 

Last week Pastor Ronnie told us to stay as far away from that “line” in the sand as possible.  Don’t even have a toe on it.

In fact we should put on our steel toed boots, guard our hearts and minds and pray for the HS to convict us when we get too close to that line.  An inch here, two there and before you know it you’re over the line and in trouble!  It’s a good thing we have a Savior who has long, strong, and loving arms to rescue us with! 

Thank you Father! 

( look for more on this drawing in tomorrow’s blog….)

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Great Stuff. Particularly enjoyed reading protect it, because The Music and Art Lounge http://sharparrowmusic.ning.com, if you read the mission statement, is all about encouraging responsible use of media. It is very seldom that our TV ever goes on at home and I have know this had benefited my entire family. Even my marriage has been blessed, because I do not get the insidious bombardment of images that make men dissatisfied with the blessing they have in their own wives!

  2. Love it Donna-I think there are rumblings of a revival-I think people are slowly waking up and becoming tired of being bombarded by the world-they just don’t know what to do about it.

Leave a Reply

