Don’t get caught….

Standard

This week I heard an awesome message preached and the title of it was this: 

“ Don’t let God catch you with your

work undone.”

 

OUCH! 

Ever since I was a kid I was taught to give to the poor, to feed the hungry, clothe the naked, visit the sick and give people a drink when they need it.  All these things come from Matthew 25.  Jesus said that if we do it to the least of these we have done it to Him.  If we don’t…then that’s another story.

So, what I want to know is why aren’t we  ( the church universal) giving God our very best by giving ALL we have instead of just some?   Why aren’t we throwing open the doors of our food pantries, soup kitchens and thrift shops?    Who decides who gets what, how much and when?   What are we afraid of?   That we won’t have what we need?  Psssht…if we read our bible we will see that God takes care of even the birds of the air-so what makes us think he won’t take care of us?

MAtthew 6:26 “Look at the birds. They don’t plant, harvest, or gather the harvest into barns. Yet, your heavenly Father feeds them. Aren’t you worth more than they?

We are tied up inbondage with social service rules, regulations and worldly red tape.  Granted there must be some order, but someone hungry and in need of groceries needs compassion and grace.  They don’t need 20 questions.  Their tummy hurts and their kids are crying for something to eat.  They need protein and nourishment,  not humiliation and rejection.  That only takes away their dignity and pride and it shreds every bit of hope they have left in their being.    Jesus came so that we might HAVE hope.

 Are we giving people HOPE? 

We can when we freely give.  No questions asked.  Just do it.  ( Sorry NIKE)

This week I have experienced the neediness of my brothers and sisters right here in Carroll County.  I think God has used today to tell me to get His work done.  To quit squawking, to make some changes, to see people for who they really are- God’s precious children.  It has broken my heart that we  have so much and they so little.  Today I saw grace and hope in action.  I saw tears of gratitude and smiles of joy.  I saw Jesus in action.

A verb.  

No red tape, no rules, just pure obedience to the scriptures.  This is what it means to FOLLOW ME. 

 Matthew 25 says:

‘Come, my Father has blessed you! ( and we have been blessed more than any other nation in the world!) Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world.  ( God has been preparing a home for us since the creation of the world!)  35I was hungry, and you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty, and you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger, and you took me into your home. 36I needed clothes, and you gave me something to wear. I was sick, and you took care of me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’ 37“Then the people who have God’s approval will reply to him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you or see you thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you as a stranger and take you into our homes or see you in need of clothes and give you something to wear? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ 40“The king will answer them, ‘I can guarantee this truth: Whatever you did for one of my brothers or sisters, no matter how unimportant they seemed, you did for me.’

Let me ask you this:  Do you really believe what you just read?  If you don’t- then ask God to remove your unbelief so that you can get His work done.

 

Charity.

We have each received it from Jesus Christ.  We don’t deserve it, yet we receive it over and over and over again.  So who in the world am I to tell a hungry person that they can’t have food to eat because they got some last month?  Who am I to tell a naked person that I can’t give them clothes because they got clothes a month ago?  Who am I to not offer a thirsty soul a drink of water?  Who am I to not offer Jesus to people by filling their basic needs as many times as needed?  I don’t understand myself, I don’t understand the “system” and I certainly don’t understand the world.

  I am no one but Jesus

is everything.  He is in the bottle of

 

water, he is in the bag of groceries,

he is in the clothing drive, he is,

he is, he is. 

What I do understand is that there are people right under our noses who have spent every last dime that they have on the basic needs of day to day living and with school starting some have even spent their grocery money on school supplies.  We live in the richest country in the world and we have needy people all around us.  Are our eyes open to see the need?  Are our ears open to hear their cries?  Or are our hands so tightly clenched around what we have accumulated that we are strangling our spirit of obedience?    Some days I feel like I am choking myself to death and other days I feel like I am being choked to death by the “system.” 

All I know is that people need grace and lot’s of it.  Including myself. 

Mother Teresa said this:

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives.

Be kind anyway.
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough.

 Give your best anyway.


For you see, in the end,

it is between you and God.

It was never between

you and them anyway.”

this struggle will always be with us

until jesus comes back.

may HE come quickly.

my heart is in your hands and in your care.

I love you my sweet, precious savior.  I adore you.  You are the breath that is in me.  help my unbelief and show me how to make changes and how to follow you….yours forever xoxoxox d.

Granny Jewel's Jesus Painting

Granny Jewel’s Jesus

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

