Page’s Camp Meeting

Standard

Hello!  Greetings from the studio!  My mind has been reflecting on last night’s camp meeting in Dublin.  I had never been there before and all I can say is that it was quite a treat for me!  I parked in the field along an old fence and as I walked through the green grass I could see mountains in the distance.  There were cows in the fields surrounding the meeting place as well as birds chirping and flitting to and fro.  I saw a few familiar faces as I looked for my friend…

Ah!  There she is! 

A round of hugs and smiles and the music begins!  Oh and is it ever lively!  A full man band and not one of them was shy!  The hair on my arms stood up and I started to get chilled by the Spirit that was in this place!   The drummer was wailing on his cahone and then on the bongo drum…I felt like I had fallen into another time and place, temporarily.  The Spirit was thick and moving in between people and  the folding metal chairs.  The air was full of life and joy! 

As I worshipped with my new found family I gazed out over the field, taking in the scenery from where I was standing.  I spotted one lone white wooden cross off in the distance.  It was beautiful, empty and clean.  Another sign of God’s grace. 

All the songs were sung in high spirits and we sang for an hour!  It seemed more like a few minutes!  The camp meeting was filling up by this time and the speaker was preparing to come forward.  I am humbled to call her my friend.  She has been anointed by God to speak the Truth and to speak it with boldness and conviction.  God spoke through her and straight into my heart. 

I really can’t describe all that said in the same fashion that she said it but I will share one or two things with you that I think are very important.

#1:  Her sermon title was this:  Don’t let him ( GOD) catch you with your work UNDONE!

Wow!  We’ve got to get past all the stuff that keeps us away from God and away from being the UNITED Body of Christ and get on with the work that God has called us to do.  Win souls for Christ.  We spend way too much time bickering and arguing over what color the carpet should be and who’s “ism” is the right “ism.”   She said this: “ We are to get the WOLF off our back” and get our work DONE. 

So- what WOLF is on your back?  Do you need help getting rid of it? 

#2:  Lord, Help my unbelief.  We are to speak truth to power.  Our unbelief is what keeps us from the blessings of God.  No, we can’t do it-but God certainly can!  We must pray for God to take our unbelief away.  It’s not about us-it’s about HIM.   I believe it, I believe it, I believe it, Lord convict me to believe it.  That is speaking truth to power.  We speak the truth and God does the rest.   With GOD all things are possible!  Do you believe it?

#3: We must decide to LIVE on PURPOSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  We are to return to our first love and live for Him and only Him.  Not for food, or drugs, or alcohol, or boyfriends or girlfriends.  We are to live for GOD and to live ON PURPOSE.  What is our purpose?  To win souls for Christ.   We are to give up ourselves- to die to our selfish nature and to live for Christ.  Give it up. Pray until something happens.  It will! 

IS God going to catch you with your work undone?  I pray not.

This drawing was inspired by last night’s message.  I am calling it, “ Truthteller.”  The Truthteller is holding the word TRUTH in her arms and she is unwrapping the gift of God’s Truth to be shared with the world.  As she does, she sows seeds of Truth that take root in the ground and grow.  This is called Living ON Purpose.  I love what God has called me to do and I love Page’s Camp Meeting!   I thank God for my friend who invited me and for my friend who spoke TRUTH to my heart.  My work is not done and I don’t want to be caught with it undone either.  Thanks for the convicting message!

I love you because I was loved first by the One who created the heavens and the earth, who set life into motion,  and who came to live and die for me!  The One who now sits on the throne of Grace and calls me by name, spurring me on with encouragement, love, mercy, forgiveness and grace.  Jesus the Christ! 

Amen!

 

Truthteller

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. That sounded like a wonderful service, old timey camp meetin’. Wish I had been there with you ! Your drawing is wonderful, the colors are great.

  2. Wonderful blog Donna! And beautiful art! I feel like I was there with you after reading your blog. You are truly a messenger of God! Love you!

  3. Beautiful! I hope you send Sharon a copy of your lovely art. She is truly an inspiration, isn’t she? I don’t know of a single pastor that wouldn’t like a similar drawing of themselves!

Leave a Reply

