Standard

Like artist, Cindy West, I too am compelled to create art that stirs people’s souls. I want to create art that truly matters. I want to create art that will get you up off the couch and out into your world to change it. Art DOES matter and how I use it can make a difference. Don’t ever think your artistic gift can’t be used to change the world because it CAN!

 I made this piece by painting a green background on cardstock, then adding my handprint in blue-green. I then scanned that and added the wording and an extra smaller handprint which I copied and cropped from the original. You can barely see the scripture in the background from Matthew 25.   My goal in doing this is to get you to look closer and see what is really there-to get you to peer into the piece with both of your eyes.  I was inspired by a picture I saw from the NICA team. In the picture was a green wall-only dirty and worn and you could see a slight blue handprint in the corner. My goal is to do this on a larger scale and really make it worn looking. There are hungry, hurting people everywhere we turn and it is only when we become aware of these needs that we can help. My goal is to increase awareness. I can’t go to India or Africa, but I CAN make a difference right here in Hillsville. Yes, there are kids right here who need food, clothing and love. The basics of life. My heart wants to compel people to see these precious souls for who they are

-God’s children.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. This is a wonderful picture and the meaning behind it. I know how you feel, you are doing a great thing Donna. Having a hungry body and/or soul has to be the worst thing that can happen to a person.

Leave a Reply

