Inside Out and Upside Down at VBS!

Standard

Woo!  What a crazy, fun, creative, jump around for Jesus night we had at our first night of VBS!  Wow!  It was  amazing to watch the kids just piling into the worship center- the place was buzzing with excitement!   The parents were happy and the kids were full of play and ready for a night of fun!  We are a blessed church!

I wanted to share a few things with you… On Saturday, my young friend, Alex, went with his parents and a group of other folks to give away clothing in the community.  They had a clothing drive and then piled everything in the van and went around knocking on doors and asking people if they needed anything.  They also invited kids to VBS.  How radical is that?  Who does that?  I mean who, in their right mind, piles clothing into a vehicle and then drives around giving it away?    Only people who are compelled by the Holy Spirit to be radical in their walk with Christ and this is radical and it is what our church is all about!  We are called to be and make disciples of Christ and this is part of that command.    So, my friend Alex was a part of this great mission on Saturday.  He met a lot of people and got to share his church with those people.

Last night as the kids were streaming into the worship center Alex said something to me and I didn’t hear him so I bent over and said, “what?”  His eyes were as big saucers and his mouth was in an excited grin- ” These kids are from the clothing drive- the ones we invited on Saturday!”  My heart leapt for JOY as Alex saw his work on Saturday coming to life on Sunday night!    Woohoooooo!  When we get out of our seats, put feet on our prayers and action in our hands God works!   I am so thankful for Alex and his tremendous, huge, amazing heart for God!  You bless me Alex!  You are a wonderful example of how God wants us to BE!!!!!!!!!   Joyful, excited and contagious!  Thank you Lord for my young friend, Alex!  You have shown me things through his eyes that I have been missing and today I’m going to act more like him!  Yippee!

I am the craft leader for this pack of energetic, crazy, wild kids!  I mean that in a good way!  I have been blessed by watching their creativity come to life as we made cards of gratitude last night!   I asked them to make rip art cards.   All you do is fold a piece of paper in half and then you take colored paper and rip it into shapes and make pictures with it.  Kinda like a mosaic.  Well, some kids found this hard, or maybe not the normal thing  to do and others just jumped right in.  I didn’t limit their creativity to just ripping paper -they could use markers, scissors, & glue.    Paper was flying and ideas were forming and as the kids worked I was a amazed at their creativity!  All of the kids did fantastic!   I heard compassion coming from the mouths of these kids!  One little girl made a card for her babysitter, who had just had surgery, and another little girl made a card for her mommy because he mom helps her everyday.  Each card was a unique master piece and I know that whoever receives these cards will also receive a huge blessing!    I know I was blessed just being a miniscule part of their lives for a few minutes!  Each child is perfectly and wonderfully made by a Creator who loves us enough to send His own child to die to save us.  This is what it’s all about-teaching and reaching kids for Christ.

I am humbled.  Thank you Lord!  I love you!  Thank you for  clearing my vision by showing me who YOU are through the eyes of children!

Tonight the word on the street is COMPASSION!  We will be serving others with an awesome craft!  Don’t miss it!

do something crazy for Jesus today-

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. This is Alex’s Mom and I’m just about to burst! How God LOVES us!!! That little boy is beginning to see how God works through Him to reach others. YAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

