Locks and food

Standard

Good Morning!    Over the weekend I went on a little jaunt  through the county taking photos with a friend.  We share the same creative eye through the camera lense and it was fun having someone to go with!    We were on an adventure together!  One place we stopped at was this little church and graveyard.  Nothing fancy-a little country church beside the road.  I see things in a unique way, sometimes even weird and often times I am the only one who see’s it that way!  haha!   I think this is how God speaks to me about issues in my life.   We were taking pictures and I came across this lock on this door.

 Well, in bible study we have talked a lot about being locked up, being in a cage, or being in our own prison of sorts.    We all have our personal prisons and cages that keep us from being who God made us to be.   I hate to see a bird in a cage, a dog chained to a post or even a fish in a bowl.  I know, I know, it’s crazy but it’s who I am.   My youngest daughter has a fish in a bowl and I have tied my dog to a tree before.  I don’t like either.   The fish used to live on the hutch in the dining room, but I had to move it to the bedroom because # 1 I just don’t like fish and #2 I couldn’t stand to see the little guy swimming around and around all by himself.   What a lonely life.  My daughter says it’s okay because fish have a 3 second memory.  Haha!   As far as the dog goes-he has a pen and he used to jump the fence-why? Because he couldn’t stand being caged up and being alone.

The lock on this door is there to keep people out as well as keep whatever is inside locked up.  I was reminded of my heart when I saw this lock.  It used to be locked up to keep God out, which is pretty silly because God is already there anyway!   In reality I was keeping myself locked up for fear of what God might tell me to do.  Phew!  Over the years He has asked me to do different things and with each new journey I stretch and grow closer to God.  Now it’s like an addiction and I crave to be closer to God.

I am reading a book called MADE to CRAVE by Lysa Terkuerst.  It is a book about her weight loss journey.  She talks about how we are made to crave GOD and not food.  I am also on this journey with a group of people who are like minded.   God has brought us all together in a group called SOUL FOOD-a healthy living life group that meets at OOTBWC on Tuesday’s at 6:30 pm.  We meet and talk about our food struggles and successes, as well as go over what we have learned each week from Lysa’s book.   We our each other’s accountability partners and we text, FB, talk, call or meet each other during the week.    My friend Amy and I have been on this journey since Easter Monday which has been  11 weeks.    We have each experienced God’s power in our lives as we make wise choices over food, exercise and drinking enough water.  I know it sounds crazy-but God really does want to help you with your food choices.  I am living proof of it.  Amy and I have both said to each other and to the group, ” this time it’s different.”    And it is.

So what does this have to do with the lock and the photo session?  Everything!  Food was keeping me locked up inside.  I was never free from my thoughts about food until I started reading this book.  Lysa says that she thinks about food as much as her husband thinks about sex.  That was an eye opener!   I thought I was the only one who thought about food that much!  Aha!  I am NOT the only one!   It’s not something I want to do-it’s just there.   I think of myself as being a food-a-holic.  I was being kept locked up by food!   Having an addiction of any kind is an awful thing.  It consumes your thoughts and your life.  I admit that there have been plenty of times in my life when I was totally happy sitting in front of the tube with a big old bag of kettle cooked sweet crunchy chips all to myself.    Finger lickin good.  Today, I can walk by the chip aisle and shake my head “no thanks, I’m allergic to that food and it will kill me if I eat it.”   No, one chip won’t kill me, but bag after bag will.  I am learning my boundaries and right now NOT eating it is where I am.  Someday I hope that will change and I can eat a hand full and be satisified.  But I’m not there yet.  Lysa talks about these boundaries in her book.  I am the same way with skittles and candy.  I love skittles but they don’t love me.  So for now, I can’t eat these things.   I choose to eat something healthy over something sugary.   The sugar leaves me feeling low and tired and it just isn’t worth it.  It’s like a sugar hangover.

Lysa says we are made to crave GOD and not food and she’s right.  11 weeks into this journey and I am 15.2 pounds lighter and I am finding myself eating less and thinking more about the benefits of being holy and pleasing to God.  ( Romans 12) Discipline comes in many forms and it is for our own good-whether we like it or not.  The difference this time is that I have embraced what God has called me to do instead of fighting it anymore.  I’m tired of being kept locked up by food and I want the real me to come out fighting and LIVE!   Lysa says when we are obedient our calling becomes clearer.  That’s what I want.  I’m tired of being in a sugar induced fog!   I have a long way to go and that’s okay.  I promised God I would do this and it is because of HIM that I am doing it!   It’s all HIM.  Yesterday I opened the refrigerator door several times to find something to eat…but I never did eat anything.  It was the weirdest thing.  I opened the door and looked in and then shook my head and closed the door.  I must have done this half a dozen times-never retrieving food.   Looking back I see now that this was God’s power on my life.  I have sticky notes up in my kitchen to remind me that I was made for victory and they keep me focused on God.  One of them is right on the handle of the refrigerator.  God’s power is real and when we call on Him-even in our groanings-He hears our true heart’s desire.  Mine is to be one with Him in all my choices-especially food.  Don’t get me wrong- it’s not easy and I have plenty of doubts and tests in front of me and I have failed numerous times.  But this time it truly is different.   God is the key to my lock and He is opening my heart ever wider.

Thank you Lord for sustaining me with your food-the food of the soul.  I love you Lord and today I will live joyfully telling people what you have done for me-one person at a time.  I know you have formed this group for this purpose and that you have it all in your hands and in your plans.  Please continue to bless  me with  the faith to walk, talk and be who you made me to be.    I’m not on a diet, I’m on a journey with You!  What an amazing journey it has been so far and I stand in awe of all that you are doing and who you are!  All I have to do is call on you!  Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Amen

To date the SOUL FOOD GROUP has lost 70.8 pounds!   Praise God!

(If you are reading this and would like to know more, please contact me at cdgodwin1@embarqmail.com)

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Fabulous ! Congratulations on your group’s dedication and the weight loss. It is hard. The lock pictures are the kind of thing I would take too. Unusual. MASTER lock I see, how fitting!

Leave a Reply

