Barns and trees….

Standard

Barns and trees and stuff…

I have always loved this old barn and these trees.  I heard that the county was going to take them down in the next year or so…that makes me sad.  I wonder what sort of stories this old barn could tell?  I actually think it was a home at one time and not a barn…not sure though…

Anyway- I took some shots of it so  I could do a drawing at some point.  The trees around it are magnificent and one of them even looked like it had a heart in the middle of it.   In my mind I am sure that at some point in time it had children joyfully running around the yard and clothes flapping in the breeze on the line out back.  Maybe even a tire swing and a floppy eared old dog laying around snoring.  The good old days.  Lemonade on the porch and sweaty farmers coming in from the fields.  Reminds me of home.  We weren’t farmers but we lived among farms.  I can remember being at the neighbors farm when it was lunch time and the men would come in for lunch, all sweaty and tired and smelling like the barn.   An earthy smell that you cannot put into a bottle.  Time goes by, things change, farms get sold and houses get torn down.

I love this picture.  I love to take shots of pieces of things.  The roof is falling in and is being held up by a split rail.  The boards over the windows are worn and gnarled looking.  You can see a hint of green on the barnwood and then it turns to weathered gray.

The tree.  Trees remind me of Jesus.  They are strong, they bend in the wind-hard to break- and they have deep roots.  Jesus is our strength and he can carry any of our burdens on his strong back and shoulders.  His roots go back to the beginning of time as we know it-deep, rich and full of truth.    When I see a tree such as this I am also reminded of the Tree of Life and the tree that the cross was cut from.  Trees speak to my heart.  Their arms are always reaching for the heavens in a worshipful way.  They are a home for all sorts of critters.  They can warm a home, build a home and be a home.  Their leaves provide shade as well as nourishment for the earth when they float to the soil in the fall of the year.   I’ll hate to see this tree cut down-she’s a real beauty! 

I love the way the trees are “protecting” the house/barn.   This scene is even better in the winter when the leaves are gone- it shows the nakedness of the tree and you get to see what lies underneath-the soul of the tree.  My favorite photos are black and whites of “naked” trees!   So, i will be trekking back to this old barn this winter for one last look and photo shoot!  I want to grab my friend Brenda and our cameras and take a day trip to the country to see what we can find with our lenses!  I wonder if she’s up for an early morning outing soon??    :):):)

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. I vote to KEEP THE TREEs
    . Listen up County People, that tree needs to stay there, just because it is old is not a good reason to cut it down. What a shame. Love the trees esp. the old ones, so much character and they are like old souls. We need to keep them as long as they aren’t endangering anyone. Looks like it is in someone’s field, not Co. property.

Leave a Reply

