Backdrops and crosses

Standard

Good Morning!

Sometimes you find a CD or an artist that just speaks to your soul- well Mandisa does this for me and it’s perfect timing!  Mandisa has lost over 100 lbs. in the past several years.  Her music is a reflection of her journey.   I have found myself being motivated more and more by the words of her passionate songs.  Every song says something to me about my own brokenness and shame and how I can overcome those hurdles with God going before me.

My friend April says that we should see everything with the cross as a backdrop.  My young friend is wise and she keeps me pumped up for God.  The people that God has surrounded me with have brought  me to a place of pure joy.  I’ve said it a hundred times and I’ll keep saying it-they are a breath of fresh air. They help me see what is really important.  It’s not the stuff and fluff of the world-but the treasures of God that are all around us.  They make me see life with new eyes.  My husband, my kids, my family, my church.

Anyway- this song speaks about learning to love these days for what they are- just do it – God will get you through it.  We all have to do things we don’t like and it is those things that God will use to help us grow.  It is when we keep our mind focused on Christ we WILL prevail!   ( and April if you are reading this- keep this in my mind for your week ahead!!!! )

2 Corinthians 10:3-6

 3  Of course we are human, but we don’t fight like humans.4The weapons we use in our fight are not made by humans. Rather, they are powerful weapons from God. With them we destroy people’s defenses, that is, their arguments 5and all their intellectual arrogance that oppose the knowledge of God. We take every thought captive so that it is obedient to Christ. 6We are ready to punish every act of disobedience when you have become completely obedient.

I love these verses and would just like to point out that most of my arguing is within myself.  It can be like a war that rages in my head-going back and forth between good and evil. ” You can do it- no you can’t- eat this it’s good for you-no eat this it tastes better”  In my opinion-these types of thoughts are arguments against what God wants for me and that’s the very best.  So this is why I MUST catch every thought and examine it with the Christ as my guide.  When I see pizza I must see discipline and victory.  Pizza is my favorite food and for me to eat it I have to discipline myself to one piece and a salad which equals victory.   This is what I mean about catching my thoughts and examining them with God’s plan in mind.  One piece is okay-but not the whole pizza!

Like lifting weights- it takes time, repetition and strength to gain power.  Our power is in KNOWING Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior.  His power is available to us-all we have to do is lift up the book, open it and read it!   One way we do that  is by catching every thought and comparing it to God’s thoughts.  The bible is your guide.   It is a powerful tool to freedom!  My bible says we are overcomers and we are victorious!

Thank you Mandisa and thank you my sweet April!

Blessings for your week!

 

I never liked Mondays or bad news
Or breakin in new shoes
And mornings when I can’t find my phone
Nobody likes traffic or short nights
Or situps or long flights
But sometimes that’s just the way it goes
It’s funny what you use to help me grow…

So I’ll learn to love these days
Life along the way
In the middle of the crazy
God your love is so amazing
Through the ups and downs
You’re the only hope I’ve found
The Lord you meet me in the madness

I’ll learned to love these days
I’ll learned to love these days

I can see a silver linin
When the sun’s not shinin’
Even when you choose to bring the rain
Oh, but I’m trustin your leadin’
‘Cause your Lord of all my joy and all my pain

So I’ll learn to love these days
Life along the way
In the middle of the crazy
God, your love is so amazing
Through the ups and downs
You’re the only hope I’ve found
The Lord you meet me in the madness

I’ll learned to love these days
I’ll learned to love these days

I could wait the hundred years
You gave me here the days when you near
The days when I was out there
Lookin for what comes next
Oh, cause every minute,every hour, everyday
Is such a gift and I can say
I’m thankful for each day

So I’ll learn to love these days
Life along the way
In the middle of the crazy
God, your love is so amazing
Through the ups and downs
You’re the only hope I’ve found
The Lord you meet me in the madness

So I’ll learned to love these days
I’ll learned to love these days
I’ll learned to love these days
I’ll learned to love these days

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

