There is VICTORY in TRUTH

Standard

” We were made for victory-sometimes we just have to find our way to that truth.”

Made to Crave by Lysa Terkuerst

1 Corinthians 15: 57-58

57 Thank God that he gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. 58So, then, brothers and sisters, don’t let anyone move you off the foundation of your faith. Always excel in the work you do for the Lord. You know that the hard work you do for the Lord is not pointless.

Good Morning!

Today we are going to be attending the baptism of several people.  One of them is a special friend of mine!  He makes me laugh and I don’t mean just a haha laugh-but a serious belly laugh!  I love this kid!  I am excited for him and for what God has planned for his life.  I am also excited for his family-they have become dear friends to me.  They have brought me joy and have revived my tired spirit.   I have seen the twinkle of God in his parents eyes and it is a beautiful thing.    The above quote IS this family-in more than one way!

Finding our way to truth is never an easy process.  It takes years, it takes people, it takes patience, persistence and perseverance.   All truth comes from the same place and that place is GOD.  God never lies.  So when God says you are victorious-you better believe it!   Sometimes it takes years to fully believe it.  It’s not that we doubt God, but we doubt ourselves.   We can’t do anything alone- but we can do everything through Jesus Christ.  He is our foundation, our truth.  When we stand upon this truth we are victorious!  We must hold Him up as our banner all the days of our lives.  His name is engraved on our hearts, minds and souls.   He did that when he formed us in our mothers wombs.  We are fearfully and wonderfully made by a God who deeply loves and cares for each one of us.  He wants what is good for us and He knows the victory that awaits us when we place him first on our lives.

What is a banner?  It is something that announces an event that we see hanging over a street or that is held up on poles in a yard.  It must be held UP.  The Lord is our banner of truth -He is over our lives in everything that we do.   How do we hold up the banner of truth?  With help.  First off we pray.  We seek God’s wisdom in everything we do and then we DO with Him at the front of our minds.  We do it with the help of others.  When we get tired we need an intercessor, someone who will hold us up while we are doing this work.  Let me give you an example.  Today we will be attending the baptism of many people.  After the baptism we will be eating.  It seems as though a lot of what we do revolves around food.  Food is important to nourish our bodies but we shouldn’t let it be the reason for our existence.  God is that reason.  The food gives us energy to do His work.  So, at this picnic there will be food of all sorts and for me this food is a huge temptation to overeat, indulge and satisfy my sugar addiction.   If I eat sugar I will become complacent, tired and lazy.    I have a group of  friends whom God has surrounded me with to help me with this issue.  They will be helping me make the right food choices and when they do that-they are in essence helping me hold up the banner of the Lord.  You see my heart’s desire is to be holy and pleasing to God in all areas of my life, especially in this one.  I try and try and try and keep trying.  I will eventually get it right, but I have found out that I cannot do it alone.

In Exodus 17 we see  the Amalekites attacking the Israelites.  Moses told Joshua to choose some men to go with him to fight them.  While they were fighting Moses would stand on top of the hill with the staff of God in his hands-asking God for enablement to overcome the enemy.  Moses couldn’t do this alone-it was tiring work.   As long as Moses had his arms in the air-they were winning, but as soon as he dropped them from being tired, they were losing.   So God sent him Aaron and Hur to help him.  They each stood beside him and held his hands up until the enemy was defeated.

As Christians on the road together, this is what we supposed to do for each other.  I want to defeat this addiction in my life so that I can  have energy to do the work that God has called me to do.  I can’t do it alone.  I need an Aaron and a Hur-maybe even several!  God has placed these people in my life and I am very thankful for them.   While I am at work defeating this sugar addiction, I will come alongside others who need my help and I will help them.  This is called a support group and I love the group that God has placed to walk alongside me, to encourage me and to help hold up my hands AWAY from the food!

Yes I said ADDICTION.  Sugar is my number one enemy.  Satan uses it to cajole me into numbness.  He doesn’t want me doing God’s work and he feeds me these little lies of how good it tastes and how one little bite won’t hurt me, knowing full well that this is my addiction and that I can’t stop at one bite.  Just like an alcoholic can’t stop at one drink, or a drug user can’t stop at one needle, one hit, or one party.   Like a drug sugar puts your mind to sleep and your body becomes numb, lazy and fat.  Your zest for life is gone and your brain is clouded.  The only way I can overcome my addiction is with help.  Help from God and from a support group of like minded people.   This is my victory!  Where I stand determines my success.  I can stand in the mountain of sugar or ON that mountain top with God and my support group holding up the Lord’s banner.   We can’t do it alone.

Today, we will journey to the river together for a time of baptism and celebration.  We will hold up the banner of the Lord over the newly baptized and over one another as the family of God.  Each of us has some sort of addiction that we can and will overcome.  It takes time, persistence, prayer and the help of a strong support group.   You can do it-but not alone.  If you have a need, please contact me, I am hear to listen and pray for you and help hold up the banner of  the Lord over your life.  We were made for victory!

You can do it!

Blessings for your Sunday!

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. I Love You…God has brought me a new family that is a source of strength and support and guidance in His word, and I’m just speechless. We will help each other along the way. You are treasured, and I will help you hold your hands up on that mountaintop and we will PRAISE HIM! The victory is already ours–all we have to do is claim it and stand on it. Can’t wait to spend time with you this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

