Moses, mountains and maps

Standard

I woke up early today with the thought of Moses and Mt. Sinai on my mind.  We spent last weekend motorcycling all over the mountains of NC and VA.  The highest point was at Craggy Mountain on the BRP.   5600′.  We were literally IN THE CLOUDS.  The view from there was amazing!   I know how I felt being on top of that mountain and I can only imagine how Moses must have felt being up there AND being able to talk to God!  It’s no wonder his face was radiant when he came down!  I know that my little jaunt to the mountains has brought me to a place of renewed joy.  God always shows me something when I am on my motorcycle-that’s why I love it so.

I think it’s called PERSPECTIVE.  When I was on the mountain I could see, breath and hear God so clearly-there wasn’t anything to get in the way.  My vision was clear and bright.  I was in the clouds and nothing else was on my mind.  Coming down from the mountain brought an array of challenges that made me want to turn around and go back.  But, if I went back, I wouldn’t be able to get home or get through the challenges.  As I came down the mountain I was very aware of how alert and ON I had to be.  There could be danger at every turn and I had to be prepared.  No sleeping on the job.   My position in my seat was upright and my eyes were on the road ahead.  I could not look around and if I did I would veer off the road and we all know what that means!  My eyes were set on the goal and the goal was to reach the bottom safely.

I can’t even fathom what went through Moses’ head as he descended Mt. Sinai  ( 7500′) but I am sure he was excited to share God’s revelation with the people at the bottom.  When he got to the bottom he found out that the people had made a golden idol to worship.  How disappointing.   Moses was faced with many challenges as he descended the mountain.  BUT!  That did not stop Moses from doing what God called him to do.  He pressed on and did the job that was before him- never giving up.    We are to do the same.

One of our challenges was being slightly lost.  ha!  We had an old map and we just couldn’t find our way around this mountain that was looming ahead of us on the road.  Yes, a real mountain.  If we went one way we could go over it, and if we went another way we could go around it.  For whatever reason neither of us was comfortable with going over it and I believe that was the Spirit of God talking to us and telling us to go the other way.  We did stop and buy a new map and ask for directions.  We were told that the easiest and quickest way was to go over the mountain.  Still, we didn’t feel comfortable doing that.  Again- I believe that was discernment.  So, after looking over our new map we ventured around the mountain  and we made it quicker than I imagined we would.

So, what did I learn here?  We can’t move the mountain, but we can find a way around it.  We also need to be reading the right map, the map that has all the roads on it and the one that leads to home.  If we are reading the wrong map we go the wrong way.   This is why our bible is so important to us-it tells us the WAY to go and it speaks of the TRUTH.  If you aren’t spending time in your bible everyday- I suggest you start.

 It WILL lead you home!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

