Smoky Mountain High

Standard

 Smoky Mountain High….

Hi!

Cort and I traveled to the Great Smoky Mountains  this past weekend on two wheels!

Our main objective was to ride the ominous ” Tail of the Dragon.”   We had watched videos and looked online at pictures and had met some people who had been there and that made us want to go ourselves.  Most folks around here kinda shrugged and said, ” it’s just a road, go once so you can say you rode it.”   So we did.  After riding it we both understood the comments that people had made to us before the trip.  If you ride in Southwest Virginia-the Tail of the Dragon is no big deal.  But, if you are coming from a place with straight roads and no mountains-it is a big deal!   So, it depends on your perspective and where you live.   For us, it was a great ride on a winding road.  It is no different than Squirrel Spur, Orchard Gap or Piper’s Gap.  It has been very well marketed and maintained.  It is a wonderful ride through the Smokies with beautiful scenery!

    The morning we rode was quiet and we didn’t meet many bikers at all-NOT what we were expecting !!    I am sure the weather had something to do with it- cloudy and overcast- but no rain.

We passed the Fontana Dam and had to stop for a picture!   Impressive!

Once we rode the 11 miles with the 318 curves we stopped at a Harley “outpost” in Tallassee, NC and met a lady at the shop.  It was next to a beautiful lake and she told us that the name, Tallasse

means “beautiful waters.”  It was gorgeous!    There was a gas station there also and we noted that there was high power fuel for the serious sport bikes- it was $7. 69 a gallon!!!!!!!!  Phew!  Our gas-premium- was $4.29!    A little higher than here.

 

From here we went to the Cherohola Skyway-over hill and dale through some of the prettiest country I’ve ever seen.

 

The tallest mountain is where we were headed!

 We are having fun!

More to come…..

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. Even though I grew up in these beautiful mountains and spent many teenage years driving the parkway, I’m sure your perspective on a bike was much more exciting and fun! It really makes one appreciate God’s creation and the variety of nature we are blessed with in this area. I’m thankful you had a safe trip!

  2. I especially love the first picture with the fog in the treetops. I’d have to frame that one !! Pictures are great. Didja love it?

Leave a Reply

