Do you believe in REVIVAL?

Standard

Do you believe in REVIVAL?

by Donna Godwin on Monday, March 21, 2011 at 6:33am

Do you believe in revival?

I do!  Why?  I see it in the faces and the eyes of the people I sit next to everyday.  People like you and me.  All broken and in pieces like a puzzle.  Some of us are missing pieces and need others to help us find them.  That missing piece might be grace, hope or love.  Or it could just be an invitation to meet the greatest friend you’ll ever have.  Jesus.  I saw Jesus working in our youth last night at Layspeaker training.  Wow!  They all blew my socks off!  Passionate, fun, funny and oh so in love with thier BFF-Jesus Christ.

 

You see I attend FUMC Hillsville and this family of beleivers has made a radical change to start a new place downtown called Out of the Box Worship Center. It’s something different to meet the needs of today.  It is a safe place for broken people to go to get help in picking up thier pieces.  I have been overwhelmed with the JOY of God in doing work here.  It has been a blessing of a different kind.  One that I never could’ve imagined had I not accepted the mission to follow God.  I never thought I would be a missionary on Main Street in Hillsville.  But God did… and when you really get down to the brass tacks we ar ALL missionaries wherever we go.  We must learn to think with a missionary mind and body.  Looking on the world in love and with compassion, not pointing fingers, but joining God where He is working in your own home town.  I have experienced God in so many different ways this week alone that it is hard to count all the ways.

 

I see Him in your smiling faces, your hurting eyes, your great big bear hugs, when your face lights up and your eyes bug out of your head.  I have seen Him in dancing feet, raised arms and voices singing praises in unision to our Creator.  I have seen him from a distance in the full moon of the weekend and I stop and stand in awe and ask myself, ‘ why do you love me Lord? why? I am so unworthy of anything you have ever given me…I just don’t understand it.”  Then along comes my 10 year old to remind me of how great our God IS as she shares her compassionate heart with me about how the kids on the bus were making fun of the bus driver and she didn’t like it so she moved.  I saw God in her little face and eyes when she went to her first Christian concert over the weekend.  She was awestruck!  She experienced God in a new way and I got to witness the look on her face as she did!  Priceless!  For me that was the concert!

 

Then I get in my teenage daughter’s truck for the first time and I see God everywhere inside the cab.  I sit and weep.  There is the little wooden cross, I made her last year, hanging from the mirror.  Hanging with it is the armor necklace that Charlie gave her way back in 6th grade SS.  On the back is says …” Be of good courage” from Joshua.  Then I see her “Is It Holy bracelet” wrapped around a section of the steering wheel.  On the seat next to me are her bible study notes with the title “Blessings…”  All these things are a reminder to her of how to live her life.  Sitting in this moment I am overhwlemed with how important God is to her and I thank God for blessing me with such a Spirit filled daughter who yearns for her Creator.  I am humbled to the core.

 

To me all of these things point to revival.  Isn’t this what we all yearn for?  Donna Cato says it perfectly in her FB post from yesterday.  :“Yes, a revival, I like that! Revival takes place individually and collectively. OOTBWC answers a need for so many people who can come together in a common place, all broken, all in need of unconditional love, all needing His matchless grace and mercy. People loving people, just like “HE’ does . . . “Just the way we are”. WOW, if that doesn’t revive you, I don’t know what it would take AMEN?”

 

The proof is in the pudding and we  ARE the pudding!  All mixed up and yummylicious in God’s eyes!  ( even if WE don’t think so- HE DOES!)

 

I love what God has brought me to-peace and joy in a life lived in mission for HIM.  Nothing else matters.  The naysayers don’t matter, the money doesn’t matter, the unknown doesn’t even matter.  Why? Because God holds it all in the palm of His hand and ONLY HE KNOWS THE PLANS HE HAS FOR US!  We are to follow in His footsteps and TRUST and OBEY.  That’s it.  He will do the rest.

 

Try it!  You might like it!

Thank you LORD for never giving up on me!!!

PS: thanks to the Bald Guy for sharing your passion with the rest of us and thanks to the crazy fun loving motorcycle riding Pastor Ty for praying God’s blessings over us as continue to work together for Him.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

