Some thoughts on Lent

Standard

 

Some thoughts on Lent…

During the season of Lent we are called to remember, repent and renew.  As I recall what Jesus did for me I close my eyes and think of the many things he did while here on earth.  He came to show us how to live and love the way God planned it out.  He lived among the people, he told stories, he ate with them, he healed, taught and preached.   When he needed to be alone-he went away by himself.  His disciples were his mission team and he spent most of his time with them teaching, preaching, praying and rebuking them.  He always loved them-no matter what.  Even when Peter denied him three times-Jesus still loved Peter.  Even when they fell asleep on their watch he still loved them.  Even when the soldiers beat him to shreds…he continued to love through the blows and the searing pain and eventually the death.  Unconditional love is just that- nothing attached.  I will love you no matter what.  NO MATTER WHAT.  It is incomprehensible.  Only God can love like that and He does.  We cannot understand it, but we can certainly embrace the love that he pours over us.  That’s all he wants from us-is for us to love him back.  Easy – peasey-lemon- squeezey-right?  It’s harder than it sounds!

In order to love Him fully we must give up our self.    We must say ” what does GOD want” instead of “what do I want?”  We have to look to God for answers, not man.  When we have a desire, we have to pray that our desires become what God desires, not what we do.  It’s all about that intimate relationship with the Father.  It’s a two way relationship that goes up and down and side to side.  It is two arms  agonizingly stretched tight across a wooden cross with two legs severely pierced to the rough hewn log that God planted and grew just for this purpose.   It is the eyes of love looking down on his abusers and mockers saying, “Father forgive them for they know not what they do.” It is love poured out, for all, from a source with no end.  It is the love of a Father for His children.  Not just one child-but all children of every size, shape and color.  It is a love that has been growing since the beginning of the world.  God continues to yearn for us-never giving up, never leaving us behind and always saying, ” come on, you can do it!”  Our heavenly coach, who sits on the sidelines waiting for us to see Him cheering.  When we do, our eyes light up and we grin and we run ever faster toward the goal saying, “watch me Dad!”   I can’t wait to get there and score the winning point!  How about you?

I am so excited about what God is doing!

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

