Hillsville First United Methodist Church

Standard

 

Hi!

WOW!  A busy week this week!   I am so excited!  Our church will be doing a special presentation of the CARDBOARD TESTIMONIES this Sunday, February 20th at 8:30 and 11 am.   You don’t want to miss it!  The choir will be singing a beautiful song at the 11 am service during this special time of testimony.  It will move you.  For those who are involved-let me just say that it has been the best thing for me and many others-it has been a release-it puts the FREE in FREEDOM back into your life.  It is a new beginning.  I have had many, many people tell me how much freer they have felt since they did it a few weeks ago at OOTBWC.  Some of these folks are coming to do it again.  God is at work!

I love our church choir and I have missed their beautiful voices!  The Godwin family has  committed to helping get OOTBWC up and running.  We all have certain jobs to do and sometimes we can’t back to the main church in time to be at the 11 am service.   Weds.  night we practiced at the main church for the cardboard testimonies and I was reminded of the love of the family of God and why I love this family so very much.  There is unity in diversity.  What I mean by that is that God brings so many unique and  different people to His table and His table is way bigger than we can ever imagine.  It extends well beyond our range of vision and there are people at that table whom we have never met.  Yet we all sit at the same table, being fed.  It’s all the same food-the Bread of Life and the water that is pure and cool and comes from an eternal source-streams of Living Water that flow from our Creator God.   As we live and move and breathe, we may change seats at the table allowing us to meet someone new or for someone to touch our lives with a breath of blessing.  It’s all in God’s plan and if we allow the Holy Spirit to move in us- then that table gets bigger and bigger and more people are fed eternally.  I saw this last night during practice.  It is really hard to explain it in words because it is a heart thing and maybe it was just me.  I don’t know.  But when I heard the choir singing and I saw how God was working out the testimonies through the song- it just took my breath away.  I saw a team of people dedicated to doing what God has called them to do outside the four walls of the church.  I saw a team of people, from all walks of life, coming inside those four walls to reach the people who will be there Sunday morning- some of whom we have never met.  God is expanding our church like never before and it is happening because of our obedience.  It’s not easy, but it certainly is fruitful!  The recipient of the fruit is GOD!  He wants all his apples in one basket!

As this is happening at our main church, a few of us will be going outside those walls and into another building down the street-but it’s not the building you might be thinking of.  It’s another church, another denomination, yet it’s the same table we sit at.   We may know some of those people or not.  But what is important is the obedience of doing what God is calling us to do.  I will be speaking and 3 of our amazing youth will be singing praise songs at the Christian Church.  All of us would like to be at the main church with all of you-but we can’t be.  Yet we all sit at the same table.  Do you see it?  That table extends from the main church all the way down main street and beyond our vision in all directions.  God has instilled a dream inside of me and that is for all the churches in Hillsville to lock arms together for Christ to beat the devil out of Carroll County.  Can we do it?  Not alone.  Is it happening?  I think it is a little at a time.  One step here, two steps there and before you know it we’ll be there.  But we can’t do it alone and we can’t do it without willing and obedient hearts.   I am so glad to be sitting at this table with all of you- people I know and I love and people I don’t know and am waiting to love.

Will you sit next to me?  I’ll share my bread and water with you…

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Hope all goes well at First Christian tomorrow. I’ll miss seeing you but I know that wherever you are, you will be spreading the love of Jesus Christ. Go with God and have a very inspirational and heart-warming service! It’s great that you’ll have your back-up singers with you too. Sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

