God IS love.

Standard

Sin, Death, and the Devil – vide Milton

SUMMARY: A satire on the struggle between Pitt and Thurlow travestied as a scene from Paradise Lost. Pitt is Death, wearing only the king’s crown. Thurlow is Satan. The Queen is Sin, naked, with two writhing serpents for legs, attempting to protect Pitt.

In doing research for my Bethel KINGS project I found this British caricature artist by the name of James Gillray.    He draws about good VS evil and his images are thought provoking to me.  The drawing is based on the book “Paradise Lost” by John Milton.  It is based on the fall of mankind.  I have not read it yet, but plan to.  Earlier in my studies I had come across a reference to ‘Paradise Lost’ and ‘MOLECH.’   Molech was the god of baby sacrifice.  In the OT people would give up their babies to be burned as a sacrifice to this idol.   Pretty sick.  Here is an image of the idol by a different artist.  God detests idols.

Idols.  This a topic that we spend a lot of time avoiding.  Why? Because it is uncomfortable.  It makes us wiggle and squirm and want to vomit.  It is ugly.  It is dark.  It is the world around us.  We ALL have a duty and responsibility to bring Christ into this world.  If we continue to AVOID things like the TRUTH the world will die.  That’s a promise from God- not me.  It makes me queasy and squirmy.  Until we each, personally, face our truth-the TRUTH of GOD-then the world will never change.  Yes- it is a big problem-but TOGETHER we can do all things through Christ who gives us STRENGTH.  In my Bethel studies I have been convicted by God to search and examine myself.  I started this adventure last September and I am not the same person I was just six months ago.  I have been able to clearly see SIN, REDEMPTION, FORGIVENESS, and GRACE in my studies.  In studying KINGS, I have been made very aware of SIN and EVIL in leadership and how our disobedience flows from one generation to the next.  We have to be willing to say, “THE BUCK STOPS HERE.”    The Kings of the past were a mealy bunch who preferred idols over the One True God.  Many of these idols were for child sacrifice.  Molech was one of them.  People still give up their babies today in many different forms of sacrifice.  It may not be called sacrifice today but it is still a sacrifice.  We think that the the idols of the past are no longer with us, but in reality they are bigger than ever.

The killing of humankind goes like this:

Genocide: national, ethical and religious.

Infantcide-babies

Gendercide-unwanted babies of either sex.

Androcide-men

Femicide-women

Filicide-a parent killing a son or daughter

Honor Killing

War- look at Hitler-Saddam Hussein

Abortion- 42 million abortions performed annually

infant abandonment

gender selection

population control

intentional malnourishment

drowning babies in cold water ( China)

smothering babies with wet paper over their mouth and nose ( Japan)

Here in America we see mothers drowning their children- remember Andrea Yates?  She drowned all of her children.  Sabine Hilschenz is a German woman who was convicted on the 1st June 2006 of  infanticide of eight of her own children. The bodies of the babies were found buried in a fish tank and in buckets and flower pots in her parents’ garden.  Then there was the woman in Seoul who froze her babies in the freezer.                    ( Wikipedia)

This is evil in it’s worst form.

The killing of God’s beautiful creation.

 

 

But you know what I see even more clearly than death?  Is LIFE!  I spent last week being devastated  by the sin that I was reading about and this week God has opened my eyes and ears to HIS LOVE.  His all redeeming love.  It is beautiful and it consumes us and we don’t even know it.  This is WHY I feel it so deeply, from studying and drawing nearer to God.   I feel compelled to tell the world just how much God loves us and why.  Yes sin is out there but Love covers it so much more if we could only see it, feel it and hear it.  We have to be in tune with it.  We must get in tune with our Creator and we must do it now.  Time is short folks.  I feel that in my heart too.  Look around at what is happening in the world.  All creation is crying out for it’s Creator.  Earthquakes, flooding, crazy snow, birds dying in flocks, fish lying dead on the shores of lands thousands of miles from each other, no apparent reason to us, but it’s all in God’s plan and YOU are part of that plan!  He wants you IN it-no more sinking in sin- grab His hand and let him pull you up out of the muck and mire you are stuck in.

All through out the pages of God’s love story I see redemption, patience and a loving God who passionately forgives His people, again, and again, again.  Why? Because HE loves US!  Oh HOW he loves US!  He loves so deeply, so fully and so passionately that He came to earth to show us how to love.  He lived, He died and He rose again.  Today He is alive and waiting for YOU.  He wants you to know that He does love you, no matter what you’ve done.  He loves the mother who drowned her baby, he loves the father who selected his daughter to be killed, he loves the mother who aborted her child,  he loves the Kings, the Jezebels, and Ahabs.  The question isn’t whether HE loves US-but do WE love HIM?  Do we love him enough to say NO to sin?  Do we love him enough to say, “Father, Forgive me?” Do we love him enough to reach out and help someone who is desperate and might find themselves in one of these situations?  Not one of us is pure enough to say we could “never” do that.  Because you know what?  We could.   This is why it is so important to be in fellowship with other Christians, to be in bible study, to be in church, to be involved.  We must get out of ourselves and get into the WORLD and do the work of God.  As you can see-the world needs to feel and experience the love of the Father.  The only way this can be done it through US.  Knowledge is power and knowing why we do the things we do, can help us better understand the world.  My Bethel studies have reinforced this fact over and over again.  When we study and grow and see just how much our GOD LOVES US through the scriptures- then we can share that more fully with the world.

We are ALL called to be disciples, to walk in Truth and in LOVE.  Sometimes we get blinded by sin and God sends a messenger to help us-He was always sending the prophets to the Kings with messages but they wouldn’t listen.  Who is your messenger and are you listening?

God truly does LOVE you.  Read your bible and find out just how much!

 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Awesome reflection of what God is doing in your life as He reveals Himself and His will through His Word. Thank you for sharing.
    Ty

Leave a Reply

