Seeds of Love

Standard

 

Art Ministry 101!

We met for the first time this past Saturday!  We had a total of 12 kids and adults.  We spent our time making heart shaped butterfly cards and heart shaped flower cards for the residents at Wheatland for Valentine’s Day!

The butterflies had heart shaped wings with messages on them.  You see, when we accept Jesus as our Savior- over time we become a NEW CREATION, much like a butterfly when it emerges from it’s cocoon.  A beautiful, new creation!

The heart shaped flowers show that when we share God with people-we plant a seed; with feeding, watering and tending, it grows and gets beautiful petals and an aroma.  Each flower is different in it’s shape and smell but all come from God.  Love is like that too.  When we love one another we plant seeds of love and then other people come along and water us and we grow into something beautiful and sweet smelling- we become like the image of Christ!

These children touch my heart with their creativity and knowledge of God.  Give them freedom to imagine, some paper, glue and scissors and watch what they can make!  We plan to share these cards with the residents at Wheatland for Valetine’s Day-this is a way that these kids can evangelize and share God’s love through something as simple as a card.   They aren’t Hallmark-they are GOD’Smark!  There isn’t anything better than that!

Seeds of Love

Judah

Hannah Terry’s VT colored creations!

Joye weaving the word “LOVE”  with a ribbon on her card.

 

Elizabeth’s butterfly card creation

Lydia Mae with her butterfly card

Marianna and Emily actually made little purses filled with heart shaped messages of love

It’s always better with a lollipop!

Samuel’s heart delivery truck

Hearts, hearts and more hearts!

 

Judah’s blue truck delivering LOVE….

Samuel driving his truck up the wall!

This really touched my heart…Samuel wasn’t feeling very good so he was a little puny.  Well, when he saw this drawing he pointed to it and said something.  So I got down, really close and knelt beside him.  I asked him what he said…he said ” that’s Jesus” in this little itty bitty voice that I could barely hear.  I mean it was sooooo sweet and tenderhearted.  Then he told me that the soldiers put him up there and he ( Samuel) wanted to know why.  I told him that they were mean people.  He wanted to know where the soldiers were with their swords and I told him I didn’t have room to put them in the drawing.  He even asked me where the blood was…(there isn’t any on Jesus in this drawing because I didn’t want to scare people with my vision of how it must have been-and in reality Jesus was unrecognizable.) There are droplets of blood here and there but he knew where it was missing…on Christ’s body…wow….

The power of a visual aid and the perspective of a child-this really made my day.

There’s Abby!

Thanks to the parents who brought their kids and to the church for all the donations and encouragement!  We will meet once a month and the next day will be announced soon!  Thanks again for blessing me with spending time with your kids!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

