How Far Is Heaven? By Corynn Godwin

Standard

How Far Is Heaven? 🙂

by Corynn Godwin on Sunday, February 6, 2011 at 12:17pm

Ronnie Collins got to me this morning. I had cold chills running up and down my arms every few minutes. God spoke to me in every possible way a person can be spoken to by someone who loves them.

 

Matthew 7:13-14 (NIV) says, “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and few find it.” Almost immediately, a Robert Frost poem popped into my head. “I took the road less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.” -The Road Not Taken. Maybe Frost was referring to the gate that leads to Heaven? Maybe he was trying to say that the road less traveled, the one everyone else stays away from, is the one we should take. It’s the one we should walk with all our might without ever looking back. If you walk that road, you have to believe beyond a shadow of a doubt that everything will turn out fine. You have to trust.

 

Luke 23:43 (NIV) says, “Jesus answered him, ‘Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.'” I will be with Jesus in paradise. That just blows my mind. And paradise will be this very earth. All the terrible things wiped clean, and the world will be the way it was meant to be. A renewed world, just for us. Ronnie mentioned something this morning about Heaven not being something God hides from us. Well, what if it’s all around us? What if this is Heaven underneath all the sin and shame and pressure? I mean, this is the only world we’ve ever known. And God created it, He breathed His own breath into man. We are God’s. In every way imaginable, we are His.

 

It scares me to think about forever. I mean, you say, “I’ll love you forever,” or, “We’ll always be best friends.” But when I say forever, I think about dying and going to Heaven. And, to be quite honest, that scares the heck out of me. I try to avoid thinking about next year, let alone eternity. I can’t even wrap my mind around “forever.” And while I’m so glad to know for sure that I’m going to Heaven, that I’m going to be in paradise, I don’t know that I’m ready just yet. I know it will be a difficult road, and I know that I will have doubts along the way; I’m totally ready to face that. With God, I can handle anything this world throws at me. But Heaven is a completely different story. To actually hold the hand that holds the world.. it just leaves me speechless. To think that all the silly things we let bother us won’t matter at all, is a little terrifying. As of right now, my biggest worldly concern is a) making it out of high school alive, and b) getting into a good college. But none of that will matter in eternity. The people I met, the lives I affected along the way will matter. When I used my talents, when I chose to share my story, when I set an example, that’s what will matter. Whether I plant the seed, water it, or watch it bloom into a beautiful flower, I know I’ll be helping people along the way. God wouldn’t have put me here if I wasn’t.

 

Lastly, I would just like to say that I want to be one of the ones that God looks at and says, “Well done, my good and faithful servant. Well done.” I can say that I will try my hardest every day to use the talents He has given me for Him, and that I will never let the flame die out.

 

Keep the fire burning, keep believing; have faith, keep walking. ♥

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

