Freely, Freely

Standard

 

On Sunday morning I woke up with this passage of scripture on my mind:  Matthew 8:10.  Not knowing what it said I looked it up.

Here is Matthew 8:5-10 (NIV)

5 These twelve Jesus sent out with the following instructions: “Do not go among the Gentiles or enter any town of the Samaritans. 6 Go rather to the lost sheep of Israel. 7 As you go, proclaim this message: ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’ 8 Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy,[a] drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give.

It is interesting that lately my dreams  have been centered around the lost.   People I know and people I don’t know.  Some on the right road, some on the wrong road and some just plain turned around.  A few weeks ago I experienced a frightening turn around myself.  I was driving down Beaver Dam road and my right front tire got caught in a snow drift and whipped me around- doing a 180.  Fortunately for me, there wasn’t anything coming in either direction and I stayed on the road.  I was not hurt, although it did shake me up a bit.  I didn’t tuck my tail between my legs and run home, although I did take a different route.  I continued on my journey.

This incident is just a simple and vivid reminder to me of how easy it is to get turned around in life.  If we veer off the road, even a small amount, we can get whipped around in an instant, in trouble.  This is why it so important to stay focused with both eyes on the road, hands on the wheel, alert and ready.  I am talking about having our eyes on Jesus and using Him as our daily GPS system.  He is our guidance, our direction and our Savior.  I can tell you one thing and that is if I had gotten into a wreck and died, I know I’d be in heaven.   How do I know that? Because I have a relationship with Jesus Christ and I am assured of my eternal destiny because of that relationship.  Are you?  I hope so.  If you aren’t- you can contact me and I will pray with you to receive Jesus as your Lord and Savior.  Add him to your “friend list!”

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

