Geminid showers make me feel poetic by Corynn Godwin

Standard

Good Morning!  This morning is cold, crisp and gorgeous!  I love to see the sun glistening off of the snow in the morning light.  It is a bit too cold, even for this northerner, so I will stay inside today!

Yesterday was the 20th anniversary of my 29th birthday and it was also the best evening to view the Geminid showers.  At 10:30pm last night Corynn and I decided to take a drive out to Dinwiddie Church to do some stargazing.  We do this every now and then and we always find new spots to view from.   We stopped there and then crept down the road to view from a nearby field.  We saw about 10 comets in a 20 minute time period.  It was so much fun to hear the “awws and oohs” coming from the passenger seat!  When I finally saw my first one I just about jumped out of my seat.  haha.  There is nothing greater than seeing a falling star.  That is one love that Corynn and I share.   We both love, love, love creation.

It all started with my parents.  They are  lovers of creation and my sister and I both share this love for the power of God through nature.  Mom and Dad always took the time to point out the little things to us, like flowers blooming and bees buzzing.  Dad used to be a beekeeper and I was always amazed at the honeycombs inside the box.  Still am!  As kids they took us here and there- always showing us new things.  I remember many Sunday afternoon rides with no destination in mind, but many adventures!  It usually involved ice cream!  :):)  Still does and now it is on 2 wheels with our kids!  Thanks Mom and Dad!

I also have to thank Rick Powers and Sussie Slaugenhaupt Hitt for this love of creation -they taught us well in SS!  Thank you obedient servants!  Your teachings live on!

Anyway- when I got up this morning there was this beautiful poem written by Corynn posted on Facebook.  I just had to share it with you all.  She is a young woman chasing fast after God’s heart and I admire her more and more everyday.  So I hope you will take the time to ponder the words, and hear her heart.  Have a blessed day and take some time to enjoy the beauty of God’s creation this winter.

Many blessings,

d.

Geminid showers make me feel poetic

by Corynn Godwin

i watched the clouds

race their heavenly forms

across a midnight sky,

and i dreamed.

sometimes i like to pretend

that i am as beautiful as the stars,

as normal as the moon,

and as rare as Haley’s Comet.

somewhere amongst the stars and cosmic dust,

the Milky Way is my homeland,

the Cat Eye Nebula is my New York City.

i like to dance with the Aurora Borealis,

calling them by name

until daybreak chases my waltz partners away.

i like to paint with the sunrise,

coaxing the sun from its hiding place

with colors so fabulous

even the mighty Himalayas praise God.

and i smile,

for His artwork is far greater than mine.

as my fears drop like shooting stars,

they burn like comets.

now, i am as free as Orion,

although i was never really chained to begin with.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. Corynn is definitely a gifted writer and sees the world through an artist’s eyes. She is so observant and has exceptional verbal skills. All that just means, she is really blessed by God. I’m sure He will use these gifts in many different ways throughout her life as He has in yours!

  2. Corynn is so talented with words and this is so beautiful it made me tear up. This is so amazing ! What comes out of her mind is just so awesome. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful like her. I am one proud Grandma I tell YOU !

Leave a Reply

