Light

Standard

 

Light

Wow….The wonder of God never ceases to amaze me!  Last night was  such a beautiful night and after such a Spirit filled day it was like the icing on the cake!  We had such a wonderful day of anointed worship and celebration that I didn’t think it could get any better!  God surprises us when we least expect it!

Sunday afternoon is dedicated to my Bethel studies and we have class from 4-6 pm at church.  Now that Daylight savings is in effect it is dark when we leave the church.  The moon was gorgeous last night, but what was even more spectacular were the clouds surrounding it.  They were like this ripply, cosmic looking painting from outer space.  Only God could do that.  No paintbrush could imitate them.  So, when I got home I ran in the house, got my camera and yelled at Corynn to “come on, let’s go take some moon pictures!”  Of course she was game- she drove!  It’s great having her driving now because we can do these little crazy things like taking pictures at night!

So we drive all around Mitchell’s Crossroads trying to get the “perfect moon photo” from different places.  I’m afraid my camera isn’t the one I need to do this.  Taking moon pictures is hard!  Anyway- Corynn had this spot she wanted to take me to, so we drove there.  I was fiddling with my camera along the way, not paying much attention to where we were.  For some reason I looked up and there before us was this beautiful view of the light streaming out of the windows of Omega Coalition Church, lighting up the dark night sky.   I shouted, ” STOP!  Right here!  I’ve got to get this picture!”  My heart was racing as I fumbled with my camera in the darkness of the car.  Corynn pulled over and I jumped out….I knew I just had to get the picture because it was sooooooo beautiful!

I took about 20 pictures-none of them coming out to my satisfaction.  The windows on the church are stained glass and I could see the many colors from the road, but my camera was not picking them up the way my eyes were seeing them.  I finally decided that maybe that was just for me to see in that moment.  Some things are just too beautiful to replicate.  This was one of those things.  I saw the beauty of God in the light streaming from the windows.  The light pierced the darkness-slicing through the night.  It took my breath away.

God is here.

He is at work all around us-even in our darkest hours.

He comes in with His light and He fills up our hearts.

Unexpected.

Breathtaking.

Spectacular!

The Light of His grace fills up our hearts.

Corynn and I have this favorite song called ” Your Love is a Song” by Switchfoot.  It is beautiful.  In the song they sing about our “eyes being wide open.”  Last night my eyes were wide open.  I sincerely hope your eyes are open wide too.  Why? Because God is all around us, in us, over us, before us, behind us.  His eyes are searching the earth to and fro-looking for those who are seeking Him.  He wants to knock your socks off with His grace and love.

God created the heavens and earth out of His great love for us.  He has spent His every moment trying to love, teach, discipline, and warn us about who He is, what He can do, what He will do, what He has done and what is to come.  Are we awake?   Are we listening?  Seeking, searching and discerning?  Are we allowing God to “knock our socks off?”  I hope you are!  If you aren’t and you want to know how-just ask me.  I’ll help you find your way to the Light.

The Great Light of the world.

Now listen to this….

May you fall head over heels in love and into the loving and precious arms of your Savior- Jesus Christ,  the Light of the world.

Thank you Omega Coalition Church for keeping the ” Light”  on!  Bless you!

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. So is this picture the Omega CC? I know what you mean about the moon shots and the beauty you just CANNOT capture on the camera, maddening huh? I never can get good moon shots either even though I have a night setting for all that stuff, you need a tripod. This is a great picture whoever took it. The other stuff we can’t get is what our memory bank is for.

Leave a Reply

