Miss Virginia and her Shoebox

Standard

Miss Virginia

Every year when Shoebox season rolls around  Miss Virginia is always there to help with the Shoebox ministry.  Up until recent years she went on the trips with us to the distribution center in Charlotte and Boone.   She loves the trips, the children, and she loves filling those boxes!  Miss Virginia has brought much joy into the lives of many children around the world with her dedication to the Shoebox ministry.  Yesterday, a group of us took the Shoebox ministry to Wheatland Retirement Home  so the residents there could share the same joy that Miss Virginia feels when she fills her box.    Empty boxes, toys, and goodies were distributed throughout the dining room and the folks there began to pack the boxes together.   There was much joy and energy in the room as each person decided what to put in the box they were packing.  Miss Virginia couldn’t leave her room so we took the box to her.

Oh what joy it was!

Her face lit up like the fireworks on the 4th of July!

She commented on each thing she put in the box and when there was no pencil to go with the paper she took one of her own, reaching with much effort to take one out of the cup on her bedside table, and put it with the pad of paper.  I know that child will receive an extra special dose of love by that one little pencil.  I know it’s just a pencil, a simple thing, but it was the love that I felt as she picked the pencil, looked at it, made sure it was sharp and then read what was on it.  I was touched.   The Holy Spirit was in the room.  She wanted to make sure the child had everything they needed- even a sharpened pencil!

You see it’s not what we put in the box- it’s the WAY we put it in the box- in LOVE.

 

 

 

I had Christmas last night in Miss Virginia’s room as well as in the dining room.   I saw some folks I hadn’t seen in awhile and they reminded me of how precious Our Savior was on the night He came to town…and how precious His love is today-alive and well in each of them.  I received a blessing from the hands of the folks at Wheatland.  Thank you for allowing me to join you.  I love you all.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. I’m so moved, I’m speechless! Now that’s something! I wish I could’ve been there. The Spirit must have been awesome! It’s funny, but when you said Miss Virginia, I was thinking beauty pageant Miss Virginia. So funny! But this was a much better story!

Leave a Reply

