Awakening

Standard

Hi!

Yesterday as we were studying in Bethel God showed me yet another one of His golden nuggets in scripture!  You know, I may not be the best Bethel student, or the best scholar of maps, history and tradition, but by golly, I get it.   I really want to take a minute and talk about this because it is important to each one of you out there.  Studying God’s Word is one of the most important things you can ever do.   You’re not going to “get it all” at once and God will allow you to see a little bit at time-what HE wants you to see and grasp inside your heart.   When God allows you to see  a little nugget it’s like this little spark that fans the fire in your soul. The flames jump a little higher with each nugget added to the fire.   For me it’s like, ” what?  did I really just read that right?  I’ve read that a hundred times before and I never got that out of it!”   It’s all new, exciting and ALIVE!   It is sooo alive that I can’t contain the excitement!  Christine loves it when I have these light bulb moments and we just grin at each other and laugh.  That’s what I love about the class.  It’s exciting and it lights up my heart!   God has instilled a passion for Truth in Christine and He works through her to get to me.  I don’t always get it right away and some things take longer than others.  I have had to concede to God that maybe I’m not ready to “get” these things yet.  Pride.  He’s working that OUT of me through this class.  He has instilled, what I think is one of the most important things of all times, in me and that is His covenant with us.  His divine promise with us and ours with Him.  We are not take this covenant lightly.  A promise to God is serious business.  I will blog more about that another day.

My tidbit of advice for you today is not to be afraid to take Bethel.  I hear so much about the time commitment, the memorization and the reading.  But what people are missing is this:  you WILL fall in love with God.  You WILL see God for ALL that He is.  You WILL have a greater KNOWLEDGE of who God is, what He does and how He works.  Don’t be afraid of it-embrace it- let God awaken your soul like He never has before.  God’s Word will come alive in you and you will not be the same person after having taken Bethel.  You will never, ever regret it.  I promise.

So, what was my golden nugget of knowledge?

Deuteronomy 34: 5-6

5 And Moses the servant of the LORD died there in Moab, as the LORD had said. 6 He buried him in Moab, in the valley opposite Beth Peor, but to this day no one knows where his grave is.

Some of you may know this, some may not.  But when I read it I did a double take and then I said, I read this but didn’t “catch it” until now.  Am I reading this right?  That GOD Himself  buried Moses?  Yes,  he did.  Look at the scripture.  “HE buried him in Moab…”  HE is GOD.

That’s such a little thing but to me it has been huge.  To think that God himself had buried Moses…Moses truly was a servant of God and God loved him so much that he took care of the burial.  Wow…that leaves me speechless…I can’t wait to get “home” and meet Moses and hear about his journey in person…and Noah, and Abraham, and Paul and Mary…

Let me encourage you today to “take a walk” back in time through the pages of the beautiful Words of Life… God’s Word.  Put some comfy clothes and shoes on because when you get there you won’t want to come home…you will want to walk deeper and farther and go where God leads you…

blessings for your journey!

d.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Thank you so much for these terrific words–everyone who has taken Bethel can relate to your insights! We keep learning each week–there is no end to what the Holy Spirit will reveal to us–that’s why we continue to study and to grow!

Leave a Reply

