Fall, leaves, falling, mulch, pruning, GOD!

Standard

The last few days have been beautiful for riding the bikes.  I’ve been out on some short jaunts by myself.  I love this time of relaxation.  There are times in our lives when we all need some downtime from the world.  Riding is my downtime.  The other day, as I rode, I didn’t want to come back.  The air was just right, no traffic, just me and the bike.  I watched the leaves as they slowly and delicately fell to the earth.  I noticed the thickness of the rough fur on the cattle of the fields.  I noticed the birds of the air, dipping and swaying through the sky and I watched the horizon for the return of Jesus.   I think about that a lot these days.  It’s not that I want to go yet-but I am ready to go when He comes.  It is something that I look forward to.  It is where my HOPE lives.  It’s not in the world or in possessions, although,  I do love my motorcycle, my sketchpads,  my pencils and my books!  But my HOPE is not in those things.  My HOPE is in Jesus Christ.  HE is the holder of my heart.  He is where my desires, dreams and my life spring from.  He is my fountain of Life.  My Living Water.

As fall exposes the bareness of the earth by shedding it’s coverings, we are able to see all that is underneath.  The bark of the tree, the woodpecker holes, the branches that are holding bird’s nests with broken egg shells that had recently brought forth life.  Some see fall and winter as depressing.  I used to.  But I don’t anymore.  I see these seasons as a time of renewal and revival.  We all need it-even the earth!  As the leaves fall to the ground they lie there and feed the earth as they deteriorate into the ground.  Isn’t that just beautiful?   God planned it that way!  Something that we look at as a nuisance-dead leaves- has the purpose of feeding and nourishing the ground that God created.  My yard has a trillions of leaves in it and about this time every year I get the mower out and mulch them up.  I think of my mulching time as “feeding” time.  haha.  I really just like to get them away from the house and garage and out of the flower beds.  It makes spring cleanup a little better!  🙂

God has been pruning me and getting rid of my own deadness.  It is so hard sometimes to be truthful with yourself.  Actually it stinks- a lot like the dead leaves. ha!    Some of my falling leaves have names like jealousy, pride, fear, judgment, stubbornness, gluttony, and laziness.  Those are just a few! ha!    God has been telling me to point my judging finger at myself.  To clean myself up.  Anybody got any industrial strength soap?  Shoot- that won’t even help-only God can fix these things.   I have wrestled with Him over these things long enough and it’s time to let them go- like the tree that loses it’s leaves.  I think I’m going to go mulch my leaves up today.  I may even burn a few.  Then when I get done- I’m going to get on my bike and take a long ride and shout praises to God in the wind.  ( no one can hear me sing except Him- and He has ears that hear beauty in everything-even my singing! haha!)

So as you watch the leaves fall to earth- think about how God is pruning you so that he can grow something better, fuller, and more beautiful in it’s place!   Let it go.  Let God do His work.  He is the Master Gardener!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

