The Broken Road that leads to Grace

Standard

Hi!

God is so good!  As I sit here this morning, I am reflecting over the last year or so of my own journey towards God.  It is hard to put into words.  As I look back I see how God has continually filled me with grace.  At the beginning of this year I remember how God pointed my judging heart to a new direction-toward Him.  He did that through our bible study “Experiencing God.”  It seems so long ago that we took this study- but it really was this year.  A lot of things have happened since that study and my own heart has become de-cluttered and filled with an unconditional love that only comes from God.

God has recently put me in a place where I have been able to experience that unconditional love more fully.  I feel like the “Prodigal Son” who has finally come home from his long journey.  He ran into the outstretched arms of his waiting father, a father who set the past behind and lived in the present and for the future.  Always looking over the horizon, always seeking to see his son’s face.  He anxiously awaited the arrival of his long lost son.   Finally.  He came.  The father never gave up hope.  Our Father doesn’t either.

I have spent this week at the cancer center.   It has been a difficult week to process.  I still cannot put it all into words and that’s okay.  As I go to the center everyday, with my friend, I see life, pain, sadness, healing, recovery and love.  Oh…the love….it is indescribable.  I see husbands and wives rallying around each other, encouraging one another, and helping each other cling to life and hope.  I see tubes nourishing bodies back to life, I see bodies recovering in sleep, I see pain slipping out the back door and I see life entering in again.  But the thing that covers it all is LOVE.  The love is all consuming, patient, kind, humble, gentle, and oh so sweet.   It is a love that only comes from God.  It comes in many forms.  A kind word, a touch, a deed, adjusting a pillow, getting someone a drink, wiping their brow, cooking, cleaning and just being quiet.  It also comes in laughter, silliness, togetherness, and just being goofy.  Love covers us like a gentle rain-it soothes our aching souls and it brings relief from the struggles of life.

It has been raining here this week and God has drenched my soul with His love through situations, people and circumstances.   My cup is full and overflowing and quite honestly I am finding it hard to write.  The words come slowly, carefully and even painfully.  I have seen love in a new light.  One that cannot be explained in words…only felt and lived.

A dear sweet friend gave me some advice before I left…

“LIVE”  just “LIVE.”

So as I close- I pray that when you read this you will live the life that God has planned for you-live it to it’s fullest and always, always, always reflect the Light that is inside – to the outside.   You are precious and loved,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. I know it must have been both a draining and exhilarating week for you and your friend. I know you were blessed by being surrounded by so much love and others were blessed by your presence. It’s so wonderful to be able to spend time with a friend and to give them comfort and quality time! Safe travels–see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

