Live a life that is pleasing to God

Standard

Listen while you read…

Moses praying

(all images from internet)

Ok- just a quick post so I don’t forget that this happened!

Today, during our “What’s so amazing about Grace” bible study we were talking about leadership in the church universal and how a leader is entrusted with teaching others what the bible says and how to live it out.  In other words, leaders must be good examples to their students and they should be living what they are teaching.      This seems to be a controversial topic and it can appear judgmental but we must abide by God’s commands. This is why it is so very, very, important that we study God’s Word for ourselves. That way we KNOW what the bible says and what God’s commands are.  I cannot stress this enough.

Well, I sat down to study my Bethel work and the answer was right in front of me.  I get sooooo excited when God shows me things I’ve never seen before, or things that have just come up in a bible study.  It is affirming to me that this is something I am supposed to “get.”    In Exodus 18 Jethro, Moses’ father in law, reunites Moses with the rest of his family by bringing them to him.  As they reunite, Moses shares the good news of everything God has done with Jethro. Jethro is delighted.  The next day Jethro looks on as Moses works to counsel and teach the people in his care.  ( 600,000!!)  Jethro is troubled by all the work that Moses is doing alone. He tells Moses that he will wear out without help.  Then he gives him some sound advice.  Here is what he says…

Exodus 18:9-26

9 Listen now to me and I will give you some advice, and may God be with you. You must be the people’s representative before God and bring their disputes to him. 20 Teach them the decrees and laws, and show them the way to live and the duties they are to perform. 21 But select capable men from all the people—men who fear God, trustworthy men who hate dishonest gain—and appoint them as officials over thousands, hundreds, fifties and tens. 22 Have them serve as judges for the people at all times, but have them bring every difficult case to you; the simple cases they can decide themselves. That will make your load lighter, because they will share it with you. 23 If you do this and God so commands, you will be able to stand the strain, and all these people will go home satisfied.”

24 Moses listened to his father-in-law and did everything he said. 25 He chose capable men from all Israel and made them leaders of the people, officials over thousands, hundreds, fifties and tens. 26 They served as judges for the people at all times. The difficult cases they brought to Moses, but the simple ones they decided themselves.

Let’s break it down like this:

1. Moses is God’s representative just as our Pastors are to us.

2. Moses teaches the people the laws of God and how to live by them-just as our Pastors do for us.

3.  Moses was to delegate some of the responsibility to people who a) fear God b) are trustworthy c) honest .  These people would help lighten the load for Moses and they would help him carry the burden of teaching and counseling all the people in their care.  They did the everyday work and let Moses take care of the harder things.

Teamwork.

When we share the load-not one person has to take the full brunt of it, but it is spread out among many leaders.  This is an important responsibility that comes with an accountability to God and then to your Pastor and church.   If you are in a leadership position you are being entrusted with those people under your care.  This means that you have to live in the most holy way you know how.  You have to put off sin, and put on integrity and honesty in everything that you do.   You WILL be held accountable by God.  You must begin everything in an attitude of prayer and seek the will of God.  Don’t just haphazardly jump in just because it sounds good, pray about first.  I have been known to be one of those “jump first, think later” people.  I think it’s my creative side-my free spirit as Cort calls it.  I have a hard time saying ” let me pray about it first and I’ll get back to you.”    I hate to disappoint people by saying ‘NO.”  When I do that, I am not putting God first and I must always put Him first and foremost and if that means saying “NO” then so be it.  I’m learning a little at a time.  Like Moses, we cannot do it all.  We aren’t meant to do it all, that’s why God has given us other people to help us.  So, if you are finding yourself head over heels in mindless work from morning to evening with no end in sight-consult God, read the scriptures and pray.  God will show you what you need to do, I promise.  If you are asked to be in leadership position within your church, please don’t take it lightly.  Consider all aspects of it-especially how you live.   We are called to live a life that is holy and pleasing to GOD and God alone.   I pray that I will be ever mindful to seek God’s counsel and strive to live a life that is Holy and pleasing to God.  When we love someone- we want to give them our very best-

after all-

He did for us-

didn’t He?

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

