Our GOD

Standard

“The Lord is My Banner”
by Gustave Dore
Exodus 17
The Amalekites Defeated

8 The Amalekites came and attacked the Israelites at Rephidim. 9Moses said to Joshua, “Choose some of our men and go out to fight the Amalekites. Tomorrow I will stand on top of the hill with the staff of God in my hands.”

10 So Joshua fought the Amalekites as Moses had ordered, and Moses, Aaron and Hur went to the top of the hill. 11 As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. 12 When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset.

God impressed this scripture upon me this week as I studied for Bethel.  Moses had just parted the Red Sea and the Israelites were safely on the other side.  It wasn’t long before they began to grumble about being in the wilderness without water.  Three days in fact.  You would think that after seeing the wonder of God, as He raised the walls of water from the sea for them to safely pass through, that they would be a little more thankful.  Well, they did sing a song of triumph upon their safe arrival to the other side,  but their joyous mood didn’t last for long.    When they complained of having no water-God brought them to place with 12 wells of water!  They soon departed into the wilderness, only to complain to Moses about being hungry and how he brought them to the wilderness to starve, yada,yada,yada.    And yet again the Lord provided!  Manna rained from heaven!  So much in fact that they ate it for 40 years!  In Chapter 17 we hear them complaining again, about having no water and why did you bring us here, wah, wah, wah.    God heard them and he commanded Moses to strike a rock.  He did and water came out of it.

How many times do we need to see the presence of God before we will trust that He truly is with us?  Are we like the Israelites?  Am I?  Yes, I’m afraid so.

But the best part of chapter 17 is yet to come.  At least for me anyway.  Even through the Israelites  whining and complaining, God still insists on showing them His presence!  Doesn’t he do that for us too?  I know He does me!  Thank you Lord!

In verse 8 the Amalekites go to battle with the Israelites.   Moses was on top of the hill with the rod of God in his hand and when he held the rod up the Israelites were winning, when he tired and dropped his arms they were losing.  They needed to see that Moses was cheering them on.  He was their cheerleader, so to speak.  God was working through Moses.    But Moses couldn’t do it alone.  He had to have help holding his arms up when they tired.  So, Aaron and Hur went to help him. TEAMWORK!    They sat him down on a rock and then they each held up a hand so the Israelites would know that Moses was still there cheering them on.  They held his hands up until the sun went down and the battle was won.

WOW!  Isn’t that awesome?  I think it is.  Here is Moses with the power of God in a stick, ( a stick!  )  holding it up for all the Israelites to see.  He was their encouragement to keep fighting, to keep looking UP to win the battle!  I think our church leaders do this for us.  They lift up God’s Word to us by preaching, teaching, serving and ministering to our needs every single day, just as Moses did for the Israelites.   They encourage us to keep looking up, to keep fighting the battle.  They have been placed here by God and we are to trust them, just as the Israelites trusted Moses as he stood with his arms up.  Sometimes our leaders become weary and need help holding up their hands, this is where we come in.  We stand beside them and hold them up until the battle is won.  We never give up.  TEAMWORK!

Now, as for the whining part-I have a lot of work to do in that area and I thank our Pastors for putting up with me and my little wah,wah,wah moments.  We all have them, don’t we?  However, I really want to thank our Pastors and church leaders for their determination, perseverence, patience and grace, grace, grace in getting us all where we need to go spiritually and eternally.  If you need help with either-please talk to me or your Pastor today!  We are all on the same side-and that side is GOD’S!  It takes all of us, helping each other, to get the many ministries of the church done everyday.  So, let’s continue being Aaron and Hur and hold each other up!  TEAMWORK!

Thank you Bethel Leaders, Pastor’s Ty &  Ronnie, and Church Council for this amazing opportunity to study God’s  Word through this course.  I am truly blessed!

Lifting Up the Cross,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

