Army Reunion Time!

Standard

This morning I got up and worked on my Bethel studies.  Then I went to Rocky Creek Farm and played with 4 of the most adorable Scotties you have ever seen!  Lilly, Piper, Carlie and Raurie.

They are a lot stronger than they look!

Cort and Brendan worked on horseshoe pits today.  We are having an Army Reunion here next weekend and the men love to play horseshoes.  So Brendie came up from Christiansburg to help Cort dig pits and get sand and such.  They did a really nice job!  Thanks guys!

This is serious business these horseshoes…Cort is even going to wirewheel the horseshoes and paint them!   It must be a guy thing, eh?

I also worked on a little table I made from recycled lumber.  The lumber came out of the old Fish House in Hillsville.  I love Cracker Barrel’s idea of checkers on the front porch, so I made myself a table with a checkerboard top to use outside.   I’ve got to cut all my checker pieces, but the table is now complete.  It was a fun little project.   It says, ” Let’s play checkers.”

We picked up a picnic table and  we also enlarged our firepit.

Tonight we are tired and we are really looking forward to seeing our “retired Hawaii Army family” next weekend.  In case you didn’t know, I was born in Hawaii when my Dad was stationed in Honolulu at Schofield.  I was born in Tripler Army Hospital.  Some of the folks coming were there when I was born!  I don’t get to see them often, maybe once every 5 years or so.  Everyone lives all over the USA!  The one person that is coming is my “brother” Ronnie.  I haven’t seen him since 1991!   Ronnie was a baby in Hawaii too!  He’s not really my brother-but he’s my Hawaii brother!  🙂

No, I can’t do the hula-but I loved this show and song!  It makes me grin!

Can’t wait to see you all in Hillsville!

Blessings and have a safe journey!

D.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. This is a GREAT page, love it !!! You made me cry. I am so sentimental and my waterworks are too close to my surface. If that little picture of you is the one with Susan on the other side of you why don’t you send it to her. I sent her the one of Waits holding you and Susan on his knees and it made her day. You and the family have done a great, great job of getting ready for the reunion. We are excited too ! Sounds like it will be the best one ever. Love the Hawaii Five-O too, we watched that show faithfully every week didn’t we? I miss it. Bye bye Don-O. See you soon.
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Lilly, Piper, Carrleigh, Ruairi and their Mom and Dad can’t say how much we appreciate knowing we can depend on you!! And they are stronger than they look- you should try walking them all on ice – it’s a fun ride!!

    Love you,
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

