Creation

Standard

 

( photo credit- Laura Holderfield) 

Hi! Last Sunday was our first Bethel Bible study class.  Our assignment was to read Genesis 1-25, answer questions and memorize our concept cards.  Tonight I am on Chapter 17 of Genesis and have memorized some of the concept cards.  It takes me awhile to memorize things, but with God’s help-all will be well!  I am really loving how God is showing me things I’ve never seen before.  I believe that part of the reason for that is that I have been asking the Holy Spirit to guide me in my reading and studying.  Ask and you shall receive! 

 In Genesis 1  I noted all the things that God did.   Take a look. 

 God said,God saw,God made, God called,God placed, God created, God blessed. 

 In Genesis 2… 

 God rested, God blessed, God formed, God breathed, God planted, God placed, God grew, God took, God put, God commanded, God said, God brought, God caused, He took, God fashioned.  

 Genesis 3 

 God made, God said, God walked, God called,  God drove out, God stationed. 

 VERBS.  These are all action words.  Our God is a God of action-and he has  made us in His image-to be people of action.  We are to put our FAITH in action and BELIEVE that God created the world and everything in it.  No explanation required.  Just belief.    Hebrews 11 says that ” by faith we are to understand that the worlds ( note the plural on world) were prepared by the WORD of God, so that what is seen was not made out things which are visible.” 

 

Isaiah 45:18 (New International Version)  

 18 For this is what the LORD says—
       he who created the heavens,
       he is God;
       he who fashioned and made the earth,
       he founded it;
       he did not create it to be empty,
       but formed it to be inhabited—
       he says:
       “I am the LORD,
       and there is no other. 

 GOD is our Creator.  Living and breathing.  We were created in His image,  by a Living Being-one who moves, loves, breathes and gives us life.  He designed us with a purpose in mind.  We are intricately woven together by the Master’s hands and filled with His everlasting breath of life.  Today I was reminded of how we are bound together by a simple three corded braid of different colors.  I had used this braiding material on a project several years ago and I happened to run across it a few days ago.   I unwound it from the spool and the end that was cut was coming unbraided. That caused more of it to come undone until I put a piece of tape on the end to hold it together.   So I took a lighter and burned the ends, until they melted, fusing the threads to one another.  This formed a type of binding.  I took a length that was long enough to make a bracelet and I put a knot in the middle of it.  I wrapped it around my wrist and tied the ends together in another knot.  This braiding is all different colors-representing( to me) the many races and colors that God created in humans.  Humans that must co-exist, learning to love, to laugh and to live together by the grace of God.   The knot represents Jesus.  He ties it all together with His redeeming love.    I will wear this to remind me of Our Creator and who He is.  It will remind me of God’s love, mercy and grace for ALL of creation.  It’s funny how a little thing like that can speak to me…  

No words needed…. 

Psalm 19

 1 The heavens declare the glory of God;
       the skies proclaim the work of his hands. 

 2 Day after day they pour forth speech;
       night after night they display knowledge. 

 3 There is no speech or language
       where their voice is not heard. [a] 

 4 Their voice [b] goes out into all the earth,
       their words to the ends of the world.
       In the heavens he has pitched a tent for the sun 

Do you believe? 

I do.   Without a doubt. 

Thank you Bethel teachers! 

Donna 

youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwGvfdtI2c0] 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

