There’s something about Africa…

Standard

Today I went to the flea market in Sylvatus.  As I was wandering around I found come CD’s.  I bought 4. 

The Brooklyn Tabernacle Singers,

Robert Pierre -Music about the Orphan and Widows fund,

Streams- nature music  

and Pam Thum-Believe.

Pam Thum is a friend of Tammy Trent.  Tammy Trent is Christian artist who works with teenagers.  She  blessed my socks off at a Women of Faith event several years ago.  Her music is upbeat, catchy and makes you want to move.  So I was expecting Pam Thum’s CD to do the same and it does, but in a different way.  As I listened to it, I was reading the jacket cover.  When I got to the back there’s a song called ” There’s a future for this world” and the Mpumalanga Mass Choir from South Africa is singing with Pam.  My heart skipped a beat as I listened to the children’s voices, at first talking, and then singing. 

I couldn’t find that song on YouTube but I did find the Soweto Gospel Choir, which you see here.  There’s something about Africa that pulls at my heart strings, makes me want to go there, and always brings tears to my eyes.  I don’t really understand it, but I listen, I learn and I love from a distance.  I feel that one day I will go there.  I don’t know when or where, I just know I will.  I also know it will be the hardest thing I ever do in life-to be on mission in Africa.    I think about Rebecca Simmerman being in Darfur and how hard that must be for her, but oh how rewarding too.  Nothing we do for the Lord is ever easy.  So, as you listen to these beautiful African voices, pray for our missionaries in Africa, especially for Rebecca Simmerman in Darfur and Boo and Phyllis Hankins in Sudan.  They are all busy doing the Lord’s work and we must all be  on our knees,  sending up prayers for this work and for thier safety and well-being. 

God be with you Rebecca, Boo , Phyllis, and the people of Africa.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

